Broken Avatars?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by wrldwzrd89, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    So far, I'm getting broken images instead of avatars for 3 members:
    SiliconAddict
    robbieduncan
    virividox

    What's going on here? Does anybody know?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #2
    I get the same as of recently but nothing is permanent. It happens randomly and disappears randomly too.
    I also get the occasional "cannot load page" again that I thought I had gotten rid of.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    I'm getting frequent errors of this type on MacRumors Forums. Safari and Shiira handle it differenly, though. Safari displays an error dialog saying no data could be loaded from this location, while Shiira displays a blank page and nothing else.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Not sure what's going on. As one of the people mentioned I thought I'd better reply! I was going to point the finger at my web hosting, but as all the avatar images are served up by the MacRumors server it doesn't look like that's the problem. Probably just a passing issue...
     
  5. macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
  6. macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
  7. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    Me too. It must have been a temporary glitch.
     
  8. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    i noticed it earlier, but they are fine now, i guess its something that comes and goes, lets hope its fixed now though

    edit: i just noticed Mav51(?) & WinterMute's avatars aren't showing for me now, so who knows whats going on
     
  9. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #9
    this just happened a moment ago with my own avatar, after i posted a new message. A page reload brought it back tho.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #10
    Maybe we should post that bug in the Site Comments section if it happens to more people? It happened again for me yesterday with two tars so I don't know. They are never the same though.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    I'm getting this a little too. Are all the avatars kept on the Macrumors server or are some of them kept privately on the web?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    Let's see...(checks User CP)

    As it turns out, you can "remote-load" an avatar from some other web space if the other site permits such behavior. Just specify an avatar URL instead of uploading one from your machine, and it'll get served on MacRumors from wherever it's located on the web.
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    All avatars are hosted by MR on the forum server. Doesn't matter if you upload from a local file or specify a URL for vBulletin to download the image from, they both wind up hosted by MR.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #14
    Thanks for that edesignuk - I didn't know that vBulletin will download a remote image used for an avatar and serve it locally. I assume that feature is in place to minimize broken avatars due to remote servers being unavailable as well as keep page loading times down.
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #15
    I looked in to this when I was after setting up remote avatars on my on (now dead) forums. It can be done in vB, but you have to "hack" the feature in, which I know MR haven't done.

    All vBulletin boards will download any remotely specified 'tars to their own server for size checking etc to work correctly.
     

Share This Page