Bronze Powerbook G3 - Which version of OS X

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Cromulent, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #1
    I seem to remember that the latest version of OS X that the Bronze Powerbooks could run was Panther (10.3) is this true? Or can I run Tiger on it? It's the 333Mhz model with 192Mb of RAM and a 4GB HDD.

    I'm keen to use Xcode 2 until I get my Mac Pro. Any help is appreciated :).
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    I wouldn't run Tiger on it with that size HDD anyway. Panther would be best for that machine, anyway. That's what my Pismo ran before it totally died.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
  4. macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Yeah I've been running 10.3.9 on a 6Gb Pismo with no real problems. I'm just about to upgrade, but just out of curiosity if I did install Tiger would I still be able to run Classic?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #6
    i did a google search and it seems classic is unstable and buggy under tiger, if you need classic i would not upgrade if i were you.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    Classic isn't buggy under Tiger. It's just as stable as it always has been.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #8
    I would go with 10.3 because 10.4 runs slow under my iBook that has a faster processor and more ram. i have a 466 with 320MB.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #9
    Yeah I tried it out and 10.3 with the developer tools left me with about 1GB of HDD space left and constant RAM swapping so I guess 10.4 is out of the question for the time being.

    Anyway, thanks for the help and advice :).
     

Share This Page