Bryce 5

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by madamimadam, Feb 19, 2002.

  1. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #1
    Anyone know a good alternative to either:
    a) rendering in Bryce; or
    b) Bryce itself.

    I have a 33 frame animation I am rendering atm at 1280x960 res with superfine anti-a over 2.5 computers (this one is used only when I am not using it) but I STILL can not render even 10% in 1.5Hrs. I will be adding another computer in 1.5Hrs and in 2.5Hrs will have 4 running dedicated but that still does not solve the problem of extreme render times. I know rendering a scene, esp. at such resolutions, takes a while but Bryce is known for being VERY excessive. If I could half my render time while keeping the image looking the same I would be jumping up and down in glee.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #2
    What system(s) are you using???

    I recently upgraded from Bryce 3D to Bryce 5 but have not yet done much with it (picked it up on Sunday).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #3
    uuummmm.... lots of guesses but:

    G4 500,
    iBook previous model
    G4 533
    iMac previous model

    Not the fastest stuff around but I have used 3D Max on slower PCs and it runs MUCH faster.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #4
    Are you trying it under OS 9.x or X?? I would try it under both and see if you get better speed from one or the other. I would also suggest cranking the memory setting under OS 9 to as much as you can spare (only touch the third number, leave the others alone).

    I have found that the memory settings can do that under OS 9.x more then anything else..
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #5
    I just looked, the ibook is a 600 and the iMac is a 500
    I now have a B+W G3 working on it as well

    3 machines in OS 9 (G3 and iMac and G4 500) and 1 in OSX (iBook) plus, later, mine is in OSX

    I do not have the time atm to be changing RAM settings and stuff and can not compare OS9 and X because I haven't the time to do the same test on the same machines in different OSs.

    I wish I had that time, though.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #6
    I make it a habit of cranking the memory allocations for RAM hungry apps under OS 9. Software like Photoshop, Illustrator, Bryce, Poser, Cinema 4D...

    Then again, I am probably one of the RAM enhanced :D
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #7
    Another one!!!

    Bryce have always been the most render time consuming software ever.

    The textures are good but it takes for ever and every body have been complaining about that since I saw it 4 years ago.

    Besides, what are you doing rendering in such big resolution? used tv resolution at most but for the res 320x240 would be fine or may be 640x480. Take a look to most of the quick times you see are 320x240 or less.

    Bryce have been around because is fun and easy to use and the textures are good, but the rendering is the slowest in the market.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #8
    Re: Another one!!!

    I render so that it looks great on my screen at full size.... good if I want to do presentations.

    BTW, what is TV res... I was thinking about making up some folio stuff and using one of these new iMacs to burn a DVD.

    I would NEVER give up Bryce unless I could find something just as good and easy to use with a much lower render time on my mac.
     

Share This Page