BS at work - "we don't use fancy words around here, boy."

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Chacala_Nayarit, Dec 20, 2005.

1. Chacala_Nayarit macrumors 6502

Chacala_Nayarit

I am working for the engineering department on the boat. Today, this dickhead asks me if this plug looked off. I said ad verbatim: "On arbitrary observation I am not sure."

He replied with: "<read the title of the thread> + We only use four-letter words around here." :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :mad:

I have been getting harassed because I am a college student whom specializes in computers and lingistics, yet find hydralics, refrigeration, heating, and general repairs around the boat easy. What should I do? :confused:

2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

You know what they say, "When in Rome...".

Another one that comes to mind is "Know your audience."

Personally, I'd just conform and comply. You may be respected more if you fit in and use the vernacular. It may sound stupid to have to change your ways, but it's not like they are asking you to do anything illegal.

3. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

2nyRiggz

be proud dude...use the biggest words you can.....just dont go overboard(pun intended):cool:

Bless

4. iGary Guest

iGary

I'd tell him if he had a problem with the way I spoke to take it up with the captain. Eff that crap. I've done deliveries with asshats like that.

5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

Suggested reply would have been: " ****ed if I know. Let's look at it."

I would have probably dissed you for the "arbitrary observation" too -- you could 've just said "I'm not sure" or "at first glance, I'm not sure".

Working with people does mean talking their language. Using unnecessarily complex words leads to other people thinking you're putting them down or being superior. Now you may, in fact, be superior; however showing it is not the best way to forge teamwork.

So: Your mate there just taught you a valuable life lesson. Buy him a beer.