BT mouse/keyboard on a Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by akadmon, Nov 18, 2006.

  1. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #1
    I'm getting the BT MM & keyboard for my mac pro. Is there a way to install these ("pair" them with the computer) without having another mouse and keyboard connected to the computer first?

    Just trying to avoid the "Oh **** :eek: " moment when I bring the Mac Pro home from the store :D
     
  2. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #2
    Yeah, I wonder too. I remember reading somewhere that it says under the requirements for BT Mouse+KB: "Existing Mouse and keyboard for setup".
     
  3. walut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
  4. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #4
    can you confirm this? cause my dad wants wireless KB and mouse for his iMac when he gets one, but we don't have any USB KB/mice. Only PS/2 mice and my BT Mighty Mouse.:( :D
     
  5. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #5
    they work on first boot.


    pity that the mouse work like ***** on macpro...
    :mad:
     
  6. theblotted macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    i can confirm that they pair up.

    just remember to put batteries in, and turn on (at least keyboard will show a light on bottom) to make sure it's working.

    during the first "welcome to Mac" configuration section, it'll ask you to pair up.
     
  7. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #7
    Just read the directions and it will work. They designed them so that even stupid people can do it.
     
  8. kenrobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #8
    I concur. The BT mouse & keyboard work with the initial setup.
     
  9. akadmon thread starter macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    I got my Mac Pro on Friday at an Apple Store. Wound up buying the Logitech Wireless Desktop instead of the Apple BT m&kb. The reason is that they were going to charge me full price -- you only get the discount if you buy the machine online as a BTO, because then they take out the standard m&kb and substitute the BT.

    BTW, got my Logitech m&kb for $46. The manager gave me a $50 discount on account of them sending me home with a box that had only the tower in it (some boob forgot to put back the accessory pack back in the box after they took it out to add memory and airport to my machine). Now here is the kicker. When I called the store after getting home, the girl genius told me "oh they come like this, without m&kb". I couldn't fn believe my ears!:eek: How can you work for Apple and not to know basic stuff like this!:mad: I got the manager on the phone and let him have it.

    BTW, if you are considering going with BT, get yourself some rechargeable batteries, otherwise you'll buying new batteries every week.
     
  10. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #10
    Says you with a Logitech. I use my BT MM 4-5 hours daily. It's down to 80% percent after 2.5 months.
     
  11. akadmon thread starter macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Well, I'm certainly no authority on this. Just overhead a couple of people talking while I was paying for my Mac Pro. Should have made that clear :)
     
  12. mohamadfazli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    #12
    I've been using mac pro with BT mouse and keyboard.

    The keyboard is fine, but i fine that the BT mouse is kinda lagging. Really annoying. Though the machine is superfast, but cause of the mouse.. u do think that the machine is LAGGING.

    What i did last night was to disable the two side buttons - with the intention that the lesser the action, the better the mouse perform. Seems to be working fine..

    i'll update this further tonight.. when i do some image processing.
     
  13. theblotted macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    you can also try a new mouse pad. i just went to fry's and got this:

    http://www.opentip.com/products/BEL...dAccessoriesElectronics_Computers-164234.html

    my mouse felt "dumb" before, i keep thinking it's the battery. now, no hitches, feel like a brand new mouse. gel is comfy too.
     

Share This Page