Btroadband Internet connection question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by brianwhi76, Oct 13, 2005.

  1. brianwhi76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #1
    I called my ISP today to make sure that my connection was going to be allright with my Mini.

    The support tech on the phone told me that they will have to send a tech to come and set-up my connection.

    Here is the thing that baffles me.....I can take my computer, and completely reformat my hard drive (just did this 2 times in the last 2 weeks). It doesn't matter!!! Boot computer up, and I'm surfing the internet. I don't use my isp for email, or anyother of there services. Just internet access. That's what got me confused. Shouldn't make any difference what pc is plugged into to modem. It's my modem (I bought it), and all they ever did was write the numbers down that are on the box.

    My Mini isn't set to arrive for a couple more days...and I'm a little worried that some yeahoo that knows nothing about Macs (lord knows that I don't know anything) is going to show up and change a bunch of stuff that I know nothing about.

    I do have a friend that loves macs, and he is going to come over and walk me through a few things once I'm ready. Hopefully if anything happens, He'll atleast be able to help...
     
  2. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #2
    lol yea i have some what the same problem i have SBC yahoo dsl and they dont support macintosh well they dont have the installer for a mac. so technaly they dont support macintosh but here i am on the sbc yahoo dsl with my macintosh dont worry it will hook right up with no problem and your right to worry a bit cause the isp if they dont support macintosh the guy that comes out will proly know nothing about it either but it should hook right up with no problem and no one coming out to do any thing to it
     
  3. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #3
    Hopefully you'll get the Mac at least a day or two before he comes out. If you're plugging directly into the modem, pretty much you're done at that point and you'll be able to call your ISP and cancel the work order. As long as the modem is set up properly to authenticate, there's absolutely no software you should need on your own computer, assuming it's an ethernet modem.

    You shouldn't need him, and you shouldn't need to do any sort of extensive setup beyond the Internet connection assistant.
     
  4. seabass069 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #4
    You should be fine. I just bought a Macmini and my internet is working great. In fact I have a cable router that splits up my Mac and windows box. In the Mac settings just go to the system preferences - network - the pull down automatic & built-in ethernet. It will find the source and you will be up an running.

    With Minimac I highly recommend getting a product called Ministack from www.newertech.com. It's a firewire external case. Buy a 7200 rpm drive and use that as your main OS X drive. The drive that comes with the Minimac is way to slow. Night and day difference with this product. I have used other external cases and had problems with OS X not recognizing the drive when you turn on the Mac. The Ministack shuts the drive down when you turn off the Mac. Also, buy a 1 gb of ram stick, unless you already did. 512 isn't enough.
     
  5. brianwhi76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #5
    Thanks for the input....

    BTW I ordered the1.42 w/ 1gb ram, and the new 100 meg hard drive

    Can't wait to get off this piece of junk windows machine.....
     

Share This Page