Bug for unlocking AT&T 4S for T-mobile!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jekyoo, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. jekyoo, Nov 17, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
  2. macrumors 6502a

    TheBigKing

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    PR
    #2
    Iphone 4s Unlock Methow ?

    Usually unlocking an iPhone 4 or 4S is tricky. Usually baseband is troubled and users have to jailbreak and make sure they preserve their baseband. As of today November 18th There is method to unlocking an iPhone 4S without a jailbreak or any specific modding! ITs actually quite simple of you follow the tutorial below:

    Insert original carrier AT&T SIM card
    Dial 611 for AT&T customer service hotline and drop the call
    Turn on Airplane Mode
    Take out AT&T SIM card
    Insert T-Mobile SIM card
    Make sure WiFi is off ( also tap on ‘Forget this Network” to make sure it doesn’t connect automatically later)
    Switch off Airplane Mode and iPhone will search for network. This is followed by the Apple splash screen appearing.
    Activation Required will be displayed on the screen
    EDGE network will activate automatically – notice the ‘E’ on the top left corner of the screen
    Wait for about 20-30 seconds and turn off the phone
    Turn on iPhone and the same Activation Required screen will be displayed
    When you see one signal bar, tap on Use Cellular Connection
    Eject SIM card
    Activation Required screen will be displayed the second time
    Insert SIM card
    Unlocked!
    FAQ
    1. ”is this a permanent unlock? if I update my iPhone 4S firmware will the unlock go away? And has this been tested and confirmed”
    A: “ It has been confirmed but It is not sure if a software update will patch it. Hope that helps”


    Any One Can Try This ?
     
  3. TSX
    macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Someone needs to try this.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #4
    Today is November 17th, not 18th.

    Unlocking an AT&T iPhone 4S is old news.

    Your signature states you have an iPhone 4S. Why don't you try it and report back?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #5
    Does she have a T-Mobile micro-SIM?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #6
    i have a locked iphone 4s on AT&T and also a tmobile sim .. ill try this tonight and post results ...
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Daly City, CA
    #7
  8. macrumors 6502a

    TheBigKing

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    PR
    #8
    I no have the t mobile sim card i will try with other sim
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #9
    I had a lady come in to my store a few days ago with an iPhone 4S that she said was unlocked. I didn't think they came unlocked but I put in one of our micro SIM cards after moving her account to it and it worked perfectly.

    She told me she bought it off Amazon and it came from Europe somewhere.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Monterrey, MX
    #10
    Does it works on iPhone 4?
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #11
    Does this work on Modem Firmware 1.0.13?
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #12
    I'm highly skeptical about this unlock bug: a) actually working; b) persisting through a restore (or even a reboot). Still intrigued though...
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #13
    I need to try this, would be great if it works.

    Would it be totally unlocked (so you could use it on other carries outside the US) or just useable on TMobile?
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    hmmm... if it works on one carrier it might work on another.

    i'll try it out in Canada if i can get my hands on another card
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    B777Forevar

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    I'm going to try this on my 4.
     
  16. TSX
    macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    In the video, his comment was "that it only works for a short amount of time from seconds to minutes".
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    B777Forevar

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    Ok, I tried this on my gf's 4s and my 4 and it didn't work.

    I'm guessing it was because I didn't have a data plan on the sim.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #18
    I'm highly doubtful that a software bug (much less such a facile one) would allow a permanent carrier unlock, but if it functioned on T-Mobile, then yes, it would be unlocked outside the US too.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #19
  20. macrumors regular

    ylerT

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #20
    I'm having these same exact issues. No matter what happens, it reboots itself back into the activation screen.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Clara, California
    #21
    Same problem here.
    Here are my results http://t.co/fQZUvFU0
    Unfortunately it keeps rebooting
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #22
    Anyone have success? I'm having issues doing this to my 3GS. Whenever it ha no service or no sim, it still says AT&T in the corner (without bars). I am in the process of downloading 5.0.1 so I can restore it and get this to work. I am going to israel soon and would love to be able to take my 3GS instead of my old 2G.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #23
    Why don't you just install the 06.15.00 baseband and jailbreak it if you have a 3GS..
     
  24. macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #24
    I want to retain my warranty.
     
  25. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #25
    It destroys the GPS, you can't use Apple "official" updates through iTunes, you void your warranty, etc.
     

Share This Page