Bug in the up vote

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Peace, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #1
    I normally wouldn't be doing this but I just discovered a flaw.

    While logged in on my iPad I up voted a post. No problem right ?

    Well I then went to my Mac that I was logged into MR at the same time and I was able to up vote the same post.

    So in essence I was able to up vote a single post from 2 different devices using my normal log in.

    Two votes from the same member on the same post.

    Is this supposed to be correct ?

    I just did it on this post also.
     
  2. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    We'll look into it, but votes should be login-specific, not device-specific.

    arn
     
  3. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    It could just be browser specific . I haven't tested that yet.

    Sorry to bug ya arn. I realize the voting is no big deal.

    Just one of those things.
     
  4. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #4
    Are you sure the vote is saving?

    It will look like the vote is accepted, but if you reload, it shouldn't.

    arn
     
  5. Peace, Mar 21, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013

    thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Look at my original post. Those up votes are from me.

    I'm positive.

    Used the three time duplication rule.

    Edit :

    Now it's not doing it. Did something happen when MR went down for a few seconds ?
     
  6. Administrator

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    #6
    I think we're good and the up-vote is functioning as designed.

    I've taken a look and I can't reproduce the problem. Also, looking at the data, the 3 votes on that original post are from 3 different users. Perhaps it was coincidentally up-voted by others while you were investigating it? Or is it possible you are logged in as different users on your devices?

    Thanks,
    chris
     
  7. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    Nope. Just Peace.

    Sorry I bothered folks.

    Carry on !
    :)
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON
    #8
    I did notice a bug, where the button appears to be protruded when you've already upvoted a post. It even adds 1 after clicking, but reverts as soon as you refresh.
     
  9. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
  10. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    No my post was obviously my error . That thread is about something else.

    I underestimated the number of people that would up vote a feedback thread in a five minute period.

    :eek:
     
  11. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Behaviour is similar. Even though you have already voted on a post, it lets you vote on it again until you refresh the page and it no longer counts.

    Used to be the upvote button was disabled if you had already voted on it.

    B
     
  12. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    If you look at my original post you will see three up votes . I thought I made two of those. One from my iPad and one from my MBP.

    Obviously I didn't .
     
  13. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #13
    Ya, we don't check if you voted or not when the vote button is displayed. It's checked when you vote and discarded in the backend if you have already voted (why it doesn't appear when you reload).

    The whole vote system is still not what i'd consider great, but I have a few other enhancements that we are working on, so it's just not been a high priority. Things like these changes always take longer than it seems like they should.

    arn
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #14
    I can't upvote on any threads

    I don't know if it's a delay or what but I can't upvote any threads. The button is there, but if I click it then refresh the page, my vote goes away. :(
     
  15. macrumors demi-god

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #15
    Just upvoted you from my iPad

    And myself ...

    What environment you use ?
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #16
    I just upvoted both of you. And myself.:)
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #17
    Refresh page?
     
  18. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #18
    I can vote, and unvote, as long as I don't refresh. When I refresh, it doesn't seem like I voted at all to begin with, even though I did.
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #19
    Bug in the up vote

    ... Good Riddance.

    I can vote and refresh from Mobile Safari, but after I refresh the button is no longer "pressed" and allows me to click again. Refreshing a second time removes the extraneous vote. So I don't appear to be able to unvote from my iPhone.
     
  20. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #20

    Thats the way I would have designed it. :D
     

Share This Page