Building a mac pt. 2

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by BiggeeC, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. BiggeeC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    #1
    Hey everybody, a couple quick questions:

    Ok, I have all the components I need for the Sawtooth I am building. I have:
    -NEC 16x DVD RW
    -1 GB of Ram
    -OSX Tiger
    -400 mhz processor
    -ATI Rage 128 Pro card
    -160 GB hard drive @ 7200 RPM
    -19" Samsung LCD
    -Apple Keyboard/Mighty Mouse

    This seems like a decent way to spend $350 (I have friends who helped me out w/parts.....and before any of you say, 'You shoulda bought a mini'...I didn't want a mini)
    This is what I can't wrap my head around (go easy on me) After I install all the hardware, can I just start it up and have it boot off of Tiger? I think what I'm asking is, will it be able to read all the new hardware, or am I doing it wrong? Also, is there anything I need to know before I try to boot it up? Anything that could kill my new toy before I kill it myself? Is a new video card necessary? Thanks all. Hope to have it up and running by the weekend.
     
  2. JupiterTwo macrumors 6502

    JupiterTwo

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    GB
    #2
    I would think that would work. The only wonder I have is about the graphics card - is it a Mac version of the card? Everything else looks like it should work dandy :)
     
  3. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
  4. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #4
    does the $350 include the price of the 19" lcd? if so, where'd you get that lcd???
     
  5. briangig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    #5
    the video card and the hard drive would be the only issues. I'm pretty sure the controller will only see 120gb of that drive...I may be wrong. Other than that, and maybe a few minor issues, it should work fine.
     
  6. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #6
    I think that you shouldn't run into any problems except for the HD, which has already been stated. Other than that the video card should be fine, if it is indeed a Mac video card.

    I think that you could have it up and running in a hour and a half, if you had the time to throw it together.
     
  7. briangig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    #7
    oh, and if that 40gb is that important to you, either get an external FW enclosure, or get a PCI controller card.
     
  8. BiggeeC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    #8
    Thanks for responding................the lcd is a previous purchase. The video card is the one which came with the sawtooth, so that solves that problem. As for the hard drive, can someone explain this to me? Why will only 120 of the 160 gb show up? If this is all I can see of it, will the 120 gb be stable, or will there be problems? Thanks
     
  9. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
  10. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
  11. BiggeeC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    #11
    So, what you're saying is this (I think): My 160 GB hard drive won't be 160 in my Sawtooth. My options are to partition my drive so that I can take advantage of the full size, or just say the heck with it and lose the 40 GB. I think I'll go with the partition. Can I do this when I boot up? Before I install Tiger? Thanks
     
  12. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #12
    i'm sorry but this boggles my mind.

    you spent the same amount of money basically to build a machine using ancient hardware, as you would have on a brand new machine, with current hardware?

    makes no different whether or not you didn't want the mini, this is just assinign. good luck on your project all though it will create more headache then it is worth.

    and....1gb of ram...400 mhz processor...WTF!?

    the graphics card u have also won't support Quartz Extreme or the new graphics features in Tiger.

    you don't have iLife '05 (that sucks).

    this is the worst idea ever, go buy a mac mini.
     
  13. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #13

    no you cant partition the other 40... it will only recognize 128 of the 160. so if you try to partition it will partition part of the 128 not the other 40. i tried what you were doing and found out the only way to get the pother 40 was firewire or pci card. there were software the would allow it but i read a lot of data cruption with it.
     
  14. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #14
    not the worse idea.. it could be a great server machine. put in 4 120 hd. or get a nice pci ata card and put in a bunch of big drives
     
  15. BiggeeC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    #15


    Well.......like I said, I had some help with the parts. All I really paid for was the Sawtooth case, the mighty mouse, and some Ram. I already have a very fine perfect condition ibook.That is my main computer. I have recently had surgery on both ankles, have been out of work for 3 months, and will be for another 2 1/2, and wanted a hobby. I have never built a computer anyway, and thought it would be fun.
    So, thanks, but no thanks.
     
  16. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #16
    what do you plan to use this computer for? 400mhz seems out of proportion to the rest of the system.
     
  17. BiggeeC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    #17
    What do I plan to use it for? I don't know. Internet, itunes, watching DVD's. That's about it. That's all I use my ibook for. No DV editing, no garageband stuff, no gaming.
     
  18. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #18
    This is just a thought.

    But, wouldn't it work if you found another smaller drive, and used that to install OS X 10.4. Then Have this bigger drive set as a Slave [the other being your Master].

    This way you could have OS X running and reformat the other drive. According to the article i posted yesterday, The first OS X version to support larger drives than 128GB, was 10.2. So, this tells me that you SHOULD be able to reformat it, and have it be seen as a 160GB drive [or what ever it is].
     

Share This Page