Built-in Thesaurus

Discussion in 'macOS' started by guzhogi, Jul 14, 2006.

  1. guzhogi macrumors 68020

    guzhogi

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Wherever my feet take me…
    #1
    Something I'd really like to see Apple put into Mac OS X is a built-in thesaurus. It would work the same way as the built-in spell check: right click (or control click) a word and it gives you a list of synonyms. Sure, we have dictionary, but we have to get out of the program we're using, open dictionary & type in the word. Why not just do it like the spell check?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    In Safari, you can just hit control-command-D while hovering over the word in question to bring up the dictionary entry. A quick mouse click switches over to the thesaurus.
     
  3. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #3
    This works in any Cocoa application -- Safari, TextEdit, Mail, Pages... one of the coolest features of OSX Tiger that hardly anyone seems to know about. And of course there's always the freestanding dictionary/thesaurus application. It's included boys and girls -- use it!
     
  4. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #4
    Is there any reason why this wouldn't work? I've selected it to open the panel, but for some reason it won't bring up anything when I try it.
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    I don't know...it actually crashes Safari for me once in a while. Haven't figured out what triggers it those times...
     
  6. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    What a nifty trick IJ. Do you know of any pages that detail these kinds of benefits and tricks with Cocoa apps? I was totally unaware of this one, and if there are a lot of things like this, I may just switch over to Mail and Pages.
     

Share This Page