bullet-points in inDesign?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by londonweb, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #1
    Can you add bullet points to a list of text in inDesign CS1 ? How?

    many thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #2
    option-8?
     
  3. Lau
    Guest

    #3
    You can insert a bullet character by going to Type > Insert Special Character > Bullet Character, but I'm not sure if there's a more automatic way to do it. Although presumably you could set up a paragraph style for a list that would set up the formatting so you could apply it to all lists.

    Edit: Or Option + 8. :D
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #4
    HA HA i beat you to it! Nah nah!


    speaking of special characters, you can (in OSX) use the option key in combo with the keyboard characters to create "special" characters.

    Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign


    I say "i think" because I am at work, on a P.O.S. Dell.

    And I still need to use InDesign myself.

    In windows, how do I do such things as simply as in OSX? When I hold Alt or Control and hit a key, nothing happens except some shortcuts sometimes.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    Ooh, that's strange. I didn't know that.

    I've always been using Option-0, which is one less key, so...neener neener neener! :)

    (But option-shift-8 does work)
     
  6. Lau
    Guest

    #6
    Did you perchance forget the f in shift? :p

    (It does do the degree sign, by the way.)
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #7
    I'd go with the paragraph style like Lau suggested. Or do you do your formating using the space bar? ;)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #8
    Thanks guys!

    For those of you on POS Dells , yes it is option+8 , and option + shift + 8 gives a degree. In fact all the number keys give special characters in combination with option and/or shift.

    We learn something new every day. Now I can get on with the most boring design job in the world. A presentation poster for a talk on 'Do Contaminant Levels of Polychlorinated Biphenyls Really Affect Thyroid Function?'. I kid you not.

    Oh well, it's all work, shouldn't complain.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #9
    Actually I normally just print everything out in one huge paragraph and painstakingly arrange the layout by hand with a pair of scissors and some glue. :)
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    bay area, ca
    #10
    this will apply a bullet or special charcater to a list:

    open your paragraph palette.
    go to the little arrow in the top corner.
    click on bullets and numbering.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #11
    and how do i do these things in Windows?
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    bay area, ca
    #12
    I'm on a mac, and I don't remember what the palettes look like in windows. I *think* they look the same? :confused:
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #13
    This is weird because on my version there is no bullets and numbering option. Also if I look it up in help, nothing comes up. I'm using CS1
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #14

    no no no.

    in word, in ichat, in FCP, in anything, on a mac, you can hold option and type away and get special characters.

    in windows, what is this equivalent, does it exist?
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    bay area, ca
    #15
    i'm such a nerd. sorry :eek: i totally missed the part where you said you were using CS1 the first time. :-(
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #16
    No. To type special characters you have to learn complicated altkey+longstringofnumbersonlyfromthekeypad combinations.

    I had no idea option-0 did the same as option-shift-8! Kind of strange. I've been using option-shift-8 for years.
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #17
    Bullets always look too small for my taste.

    I prefer to make a custom shape, (ie a circle to the size I like), copy and paste it into the type. You also have more choice, like making squares or some other more interesting shape like an elipse.
     
  18. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #18
    They are different characters. Shift-option-8 is a real degree symbol, while option-0 is a superscripted letter o used with numbering in some languages. (option-0 is for masculine , option-9 for feminine)
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #19
    @iMeowbot

    I'm almost regretting that thread about you know what. ;)
     
  20. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #20
    It could be worse, an active demi could have picked up on the idea and made a plague of it.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose
    #21
    Bullet

    If you want to do bullets in InDesign (I'm assuming you want to sorta imitate MS Word) you will need to fiddle around with the tabs function. Hopefully this helps a bit.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #22
    If you're referring to setting up a hanging indent, not much fiddling needed. Shouldn't take more than ten or twenty seconds in the tab ruler. Set it up as a paragraph style and you're ready to rock and roll.

    Snark
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #23
    Actually, a simple cmd-\ will create a hanging indent without ever going into the tabs or paragraph palette.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #24
    Shoot, I thought there was a shortcut for that, but I'm used to setting them manually and couldn't remember for sure.

    Thanks. :)
     

Share This Page