burning dual layer DVD

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by AudiGuy, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. AudiGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    #1
    can you burn dual layer DVDs with the super drive???
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #3
    just to be a little more complete:

    with the latest dual G5 powermac's 16x superDrive DL: Yes

    any other type of SuperDrive: as stated above: No

    with any external DL DVD writer? off course ;-)

    any other type of DVD writer: again : No
     
  4. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #4
    The rev B iMacs have it. I just need to get some Dual layer DVD-R's.
     
  5. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    As does everyone. The prices on DL media is still ridiculously expensive. :(
     
  6. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #6
    DL Media Really, Really Expensive.

    The other day I was at Wal-Mart and I found a 3 pack of Durabrand (or whatever) of Dual-Layer Discs for $30. I think I'll stick with the regular DVD-Rs. ;)
     
  7. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
  8. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    I was in the London Apple Store & they didnt have any DL or x16 media. You would have thought that they would have had something for my new G5!
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    My OEM Pioneer DVR-109 will burn DLs using Toast on Panther.
     
  10. nightdweller25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #10
    You'd think that the MacRumors members would be more informed, you guys forgot to mention that the eMac also has a DL SuperDrive, as does the iMac, and PowerMac.
     
  11. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #11

    sorry my bad, its just that when you look into the apple store the only ones where they really put: DL with the description are the PowerMacs...

    and in the end I guess he want's to know if the superdrive in his Powerbook will support DL... and since none of the PowerBooks have this option right now the answer will remain NO for his system... ;)
     

Share This Page