Burning DVD's in Parrallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iCeQuBe, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. iCeQuBe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #1
    Has anyone had any problems burning a DVD in parrallels with an iMac? I have a 20" Intel iMac and use CloneDVD to burn DVD's. When I put the DVD into the drive CloneDVD reports that basically it can't read it because of directory structure or something like that. (Not home at the moment so I don't have the error in front of me) When I boot into Windows using bootcamp it works fine it only doesn't work in parrallels so i know there isn't anything wrong with the drive. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #2
    i was under the impression you couldn't burn discs (CDs or DVDs) in Parallels.
     
  3. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #3
    http://www.parallels.com/en/support/faq/

    How can I use my host CD/DVD recorder inside a guest OS?
    Although it is possible to read CD/DVD disks inside Parallels Workstation 2.1 using the host CD/DVD recorder, the recording feature is not available within the VM. This functionality is in scope for future versions of Parallels Workstation.
     
  4. iCeQuBe thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #4

    Thanks. I looked on the site quick but missed that one. It is wierd though as it doesn't even attempt to at least read the original DVD. But since I can't burn it even if I could read it then it doesn't matter. I guess it is boot camp for me until they fix that. I am just glad I found the answer before the trial period was over. I wont bother buying parrallels until they fix that.

    Thanks All!
     
  5. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #5
    That's cool, im glad i could save you some money.
    Now paypal me ten dollars.







    jk
     
  6. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #6
    Just for reference, if your DVD burning app can generate an .iso, you can always just use Disk Utility to burn it directly from the MacOS. It's a workaround, admittedly, but for my purposes well worth it for the one time I needed to burn an image (of an SP2 slipstreamed OS install) from Windows.
     
  7. iCeQuBe thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    I am not sure if that will work but I will check it out and see. Thanks for the idea, I hadn't even thought of that!
     
  8. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #8
    wait, can't you make a slipstreamed XP SP2 disc in OS X?:confused:
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    Not directly, but you probably could using DarWine or Q. You need to run the SP2 installer, which requires Windows. (or at least part of the Win32 API).

    B
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    What you do is simple.

    Create a shared folder for Parallels and OSX

    Then when you create a DVD in XP under parallels, make it an image rather than burn. Then move the image you have saved to your HD to your shared folder.

    Go back to OSX and open the shared folder.

    Now simply burn the image using OSX - easy and simple.
     
  11. weldon macrumors 6502a

    weldon

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #11
    Because of the 4gb limit in FAT32 volumes, you might be better off to just mount your NTFS volume in OS X and create the disc from there. OS X can read NTFS volumes just fine, it just can't write to them. So really, when you create the ISO file in XP, you only need to reboot into OS X and then burn a disc from the .iso on your XP partition.
     
  12. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #12
    Are you familiar with Parallels? There are no partitions, no limits. You set up a virtual machine and it creates a file which, when the VM is running, it reads and writes to as if a hard drive. You can set it to be a fixed size or dynamically resize as needed.

    You also can set OS X folders to share with a VM. As MacRumorUser stated, you could simply follow the entire process for creating a slipstreamed disc, (ripping, replacing files etc), but stop at burning, instead creating a disc image, dragging to shared folder and burning in OS X.

    Oh, and the maximum file size for FAT32 may be 4GiB but, even if it were a partition being used, XP SP2 fits on a single CD, so this wouldn't be a problem anyway.
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Thanks Steve !!! Love the location sig... Hey I'm from North - Robin Hood county too - originally :) Now in Ireland :D
     

Share This Page