Burning the disc cannot proceed because the startup disc is full (error code -34)

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by MrMacMan, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #1
    So for my first DVD I wanted to make I pop in a fresh clean un ripped blank DVD.

    I get that error message "burning the disc cannot proceed because the startup disc is full (error code -34)"

    My 'startup drive' has 3 GB left.

    The video I'm trying to make is only .8 GB large.

    No making a VCD is not an option.

    I want to make a dvd. using iDVD.

    Today.



    What the hell is this?

    Thanks for your replys and answers.
     
  2. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #2
    i think, regardless of the amount you are actually burning, an image is made that's as large as the media being burnt, i.e. 600 MB for CD-R, 4.2 GB for DVD-R?

    so it needs more room in the HD...
     
  3. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #3
    Exactly, although it's more like 650 or 700 for a CD-R/CD-RW and 4.7 for a DVD.
     
  4. Inspector Lee macrumors 6502a

    Inspector Lee

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #4
    What about if he uses Toast?
     
  5. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #5
    Thats a load.


    Why the hell do I need that much space on my hard drive just to mount the disk.

    Thats really really lame. :mad:
     
  6. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #6
    To mount the disk the drive needs the media's capacity worth of space.

    In other words, deleate some stuff so you can have roughly 4.2GB of space. Keep trying the disk once you breech 4GB of space left to test how much you have to go.
     
  7. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    Well, from the PC side, there are SIMILAR problems when burning with Nero.

    CD-R's: There were issues of having cache size DOUBLE of the size of your burn. E.g., if you wanted to burn a 700MB CD, then you needed 1.4gigs left. I too thought it was rather strange, but I wonder if this issue still exists.

    DVD's: Well, I've used Nero and the problem has never popped up. This is how:
    Since i use a 80gig as my OS disk, I tend to keep 10% open, ALWAYS. This lets you defrag, and it also keeps your page file from going crazy.

    If your the HD that holds your page file doesn't have enough space, move to cache location to another HD that does--is this an option with iDVD?
     

Share This Page