Burning Word Files to a CD....Kind of Urgent

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by maise, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    #1
    I have a pb and for one of my law classes I get to take an exam on my computer and then hand the word file in to the professor. Since the powerbook does not have a floppy drive, I was given permission to put the file onto a CD. For some reason, when I put blank CDs into the computer, they do not show up on the desktop or the finder so I am unable to get the files onto the CD to burn. At the same time, itunes is able to record to these same CDs that are not showing up anywhere else. How can I get the word file onto the blank CD? Does the type of CDR make a difference? I hate to rush you guys, but the sooner someone could gived me an answer, the better.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #2
    I'm somewhat of a newbie, and I don't have my iBook with me, but I think you can do it from a Finder window. I recall seeing a burn icon somewhere but I haven't had a need to burn documents.

    Of course if you have Toast or something it should be relatively easy.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    Under System Preferences, in CDs and DVDs, what is the action listed for "When you insert a blank CD" ? When in doubt, use "Ask what to do"
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Are you running Panther (10.3.x)? If so, please post the output (from the Terminal) of:

    drutil info

    Here's an example:
    Code:
    yellow% drutil info
     Vendor   Product           Rev 
     PIONEER  DVD-RW  DVR-105   A506
    
       Interconnect: ATAPI
       SupportLevel: Apple Shipping
              Cache: 2000k
           CD-Write: -R, -RW, BUFE, CDText, Test, IndexPts, ISRC
          DVD-Write: -R, -RW, BUFE, Test
         Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO
    
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    Go to System Preferances -> CDs and DVDs. There should be an option for what to do with blank CDs. It soulds like it is on open iTunes, change it to ask what to do or open in Finder and your problem will be solved.

    Edit: Got beaten to it :)
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    word file on a CD

    hi maise.. here's what you do:

    I recommend the "Open Finder" option in System Preferences > CDs and DVDs / when you insert a blank CD.

    another thing that's helpful is in Finder, go to Preferences, and under General, make sure that CDs, DVDs and iPods is checked. Then you'll see your blank CD on your desktop.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  8. macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
  9. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #9
    Whatever happened to good ol email? Why would your prof require you to submit a CD or floppy?
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    PRobably because you're not connected to the internet during the exam and because they want you to hand in the disk at the end of the exam.

    All I know is that during law school years ago, we all had to walk down, with a floppy to the printing line. You had to be in line by the end of the exam, with your floppy and the file on it, by the time the bell rang (well, when time was up). Then you printed. Sure, email would work even better to prove it, but probably he's giving the disk to an admin who notes it was received in time, prints it, and gives it to the prof.

    just a guess though.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    They still use those?

    Floppy.. floppy.. I know I've heard that word somewhere before..
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    #12
    Thank

    Thanks for you quick responses guys. All I had to do was go into the preferences and have it open up finder when I inserted the blank CDRs. I should have checked there firsrt, but I guess I sort of panicked because I needed to get it to work for the exam. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page