Bus-powered FIREWIRE audio adapter?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Sesshi, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #1
    Is there one? I haven't tried looking very hard but I was wondering.
     
  2. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #2
    If it's a 5.1 output device Firewave, I only know because of another thread today,can't be arsed searching sorry.:)
     
  3. orangezorki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #3
    Hi Sesshi,

    Is the M-Audio Firewire Audiophile bus powered?

    David
     
  4. ozontheroad macrumors 6502

    ozontheroad

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    the reef
    #4
  5. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    Ah right, didn't know the Firewave was bus-powered. And so can the M-Audio. That makes it easy I guess. Thanks :D
    I'm not convinced the Firewave is much better than the new-gen MB/MBP/MPs built-in sound (apart from the fact it gives analog 5.1) but I'll have to give it a try as wellas the M-Audio. If anyone can think of a higher-end one that'll be great too. Thanks
     
  6. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    There's quite a few:

    Presonus Inspire
    Presonus Firebox
    Edirol fa66
    Echo Audiofire2 or 4 (I'm about to buy a Audiofire2)
    MOTU Ultralite


    There's more, depends on how much you want to spend.

    M-Audio's drivers tend to be a little hit and miss on OSX btw.
     
  7. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #7
    Heh. A couple of those I should have figured out. I thought the FA66 was AC powered. I've even used it a couple of times... but on a Sony of course, which doesn't have a 'proper' Firewire socket.
    I know it's hard to know without actually having one but is performance affected at all? Battery drain level on laptop?
     
  8. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    All of them will put some drain on battery life and in my experience all external audio devices have some CPU overhead.
     
  9. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #9
    At the risk of sounding disingenuous... well duh :p

    I was wondering what level of extra load it might place.
     
  10. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    Go and try them, depends what you're doing. It's the only way you'll find out.
     
  11. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #11
    Yup, I will. Coincidentally earlier today I got an email from a shop I use often telling me they're now open longer on weekends and I need a pair of monitors as well as the bus powered SC. I'm going to pay them a visit. Not the best monitor-checking out environment but it's better than nothing.
     

Share This Page