bush vetoes stem cell funding

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by jelloshotsrule, Jul 19, 2006.

1. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

jelloshotsrule

Bush vetoes embryonic stem-cell bill

the irony is obvious and rich... that the first thing this guy vetoes is something that splits the republican party even... personally, i'm not sure we know that stem cell research is going to be the cureall it's cracked up to be. but we have to look into it. i'm no scientist though, whereas bush is very smart.....

2. yg17 macrumors G5

yg17

3. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

yankeefan24

4. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

Bush and the GOP want this issue to go away quickly. Let's hope this veto gets used against them come November...

5. scem0 macrumors 604

scem0

I wonder what Bush's opinion on the issue would be if he was dying from Parkinsons like my grandmother.

e

6. jelloshotsrule thread starter macrumors G3

jelloshotsrule

don't get me wrong, we're on the same side here. but i also think it's very common (and human) for people to understand things better when they've experienced them (look at cheney and his unwillingness to condemn same sex marriage.... hmmm). whether it be war, etc. this is a general fault of bush's... what has he experienced besides family favors and failed business ventures that go rewarded?

i am no scientist, as i said, and i favor stem cell research and federal funding for it... but i've talked to a scientist pal (does research on diabetes) who isn't convinced stem cells are the panacea that they're made out to be. i'm not sure how far the research has gotten (that's the problem really), but i don't think it's inherently true to say that, basically, if we fund stem cell research, we will find cures for parkinsons, etc...

still pathetic that this president's first veto is on something so... religious. :rolleyes:

7. cslewis macrumors 6502a

cslewis