Buttons on Mac Pro's Logic Board !?!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Data-Base, May 29, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Data-Base

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Hello,

    there is (as far as I saw) 2 buttons on the Logic Board

    on is located on the top right (Just under the 4th Hard-drive)
    the other is between the RAM trays

    what are these buttons for ???


    cheers
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Reset computer and Reset SMC.

    Resetting the SMC can resolve some computer issues such as not starting up, not displaying video, sleep issues, fan noise issues, and so forth

    The system reset switch on the logic board is be used to restart the system while it is powered up. This switch can be used to determine if a computer that won’t consistently boot from a cold start has power supply issues.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Data-Base

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Thanks,

    how to use them?

    while the system is running or ... ???

    how to do the reset thing with these buttons?


    cheers
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    The system reset would be used when the computer is on. It basically restarts the computer.

    The SMC reset should be used when the computer is off.


    Unless you are experiencing any problems with your computer, you are not supposed to touch these buttons.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Data-Base

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    well

    my Mac stopped working !!!

    when I start the system as soon as I get the apple logo it restarts it self and keep doing this in a loop !!

    an apple Authorized shop told me it's the Logic Board !!!
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    Try reinstall the OS on another drive.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Data-Base

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    when I start the Mac Pro with the DVD, it reboots !!!

    when I run the Apple Hardware Diagnose from the DVD, it hangs and stops after a while
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    Then it's prob logic board.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Data-Base

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    ok :-(

    where I can buy Logic Board with the part number 630-7997 !!!
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #10
    this is the only place I could find one in 20 seconds of googling.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #11
    Not sure if these are the same part numbers but they might do you an exchange price....

    http://www.ohmac.co.uk/catalogue/index.php?act=viewCat&catId=27

    But before you blame the logic board -
    a) check the diagnostic lights
    b) try booting with the lowest amount of memory you can
    c) Swap the graphics card
    d) boot from a windows CD (v7 seemed to work) and do an install onto an old drive (if you have one). If it does that, suspect the CPU(s)

    //R
     

Share This Page