Buy CS2 now or wait?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Aelyrin, Nov 5, 2006.

1. Aelyrin macrumors member

Hello!

I was in an apple store on driday night discussing some things with a gentleman in the store and he suggested that I should wait to purchase my mac software for my new 17 stock C2D. Apparently there is a new version of Photoshop coming in 2007?

I am a web/application developer and the programs I use daily are Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Outlook. I am brand spankin new mac user with zero experience, but I am extremely excited to be making the conversion finally. I am wondering what the best options to get into for this software is? I have seen a few packages on apple.com but am not sure what I should get.

I have heard that Photoshop is not running as well due to something that is not supported? (Not sure what it is called off the top of my head, dual layer something or other maybe?) Anyway, the guy in the apple store suggested that waiting may be a better option as once something else comes out (santa rosa?) then Photoshop should be performing much more admirably.

Any knowledge, suggestion, direction, or help is extremely appreciated! Thank you very much!

- New Mac User

2. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

fivetoadsloth

right now photoshop is not intel based and runs, though very slowly, through rosettta in the pring cs 3 is due for release and will be a UB and should be significantly faster on your iMac.

3. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Congratulations

Photoshop CS2 is not universal. As you may know the new apple macs are intel, not PPC. The old programs (e.g. CS2) are made for PPC, and run slower on intel (with rosetta), while newer programs are 'universal', and run very fast on intel macs. CS3, which will probably come out in Q2 2007, will run much faster than CS2.

4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member