Buy online or bargain over the phone?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by nina, May 27, 2004.

1. nina macrumors member

Hello, everybody!

I'm a virtual switcher... I'm going to purchase a new 12" iBook G4 after the WWDC keynote (just in case any deals pop up). I'm also a university student, so I qualify for the Educational Pricing from Apple's site.

My question is, has anyone been successful in getting a better price from a sales rep over the phone than from the Apple.com educational store? As I said, I'm a student, and money is VERY tight! Any deals that an Apple rep could make me (on top of the Educational Pricing) would seal the deal for me.

I just want to know if someone else has been successful in bargaining over the phone - if so, I'll keep calling until I get a sales rep. who will give me a deal I like.

Thanks! (and yes, I'm a cheap girl :p )

2. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

good luck, but i don't think they will cut you a deal. they are already giving you an edu. discount. and it sounds rather silly that 20 GB increase in HD is an absolute necessity that you cannot live without - which is what you are implying by insisting that you are a student and money is very, very tight. come on, let's get one thing straight - most of us are tight on the money one way or the other and i don't see what extra 20 GB has anything to do with it. you are just trying to be cheap and see if you can get away with it - being a student hasn't got much to do with it.

in the last year, i've bought an airport card, an airport extreme card, 12" PB, an eMac, an iPhoto picture book, QT Pro, an iPod, extra AC adapter, iPod case, panther and iLife. that's a heck of a lot more than what you are spending and apple is yet to send me a "thank you for being a great customer, here's a coupon for $50 to spend at apple.com" :rolleyes: :p

3. Elbeano macrumors regular