Buy this Apple Cube?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by pkeynote, Sep 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #1
    Im being offered a Apple Cube G4 in what i can say, perfect aesthetic condition, it comes with the Original Speakers, Mouse and Power Supply.

    Here are the technical specs:

    Processor: 450Mhz
    Ram: 192MB SDRam
    HDD: 20GB
    GFX: Ati Rage 128Pro 16MB

    Price is 300€ shipping included, about 390USD

    What do you think is a good price for the machine?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #2
    For a cube thats the usual going rate.

    Just be aware it is heavily limited in todays tech world.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #3
    If I buy it will be for collectors purposes, don't plan on gaming on this :p
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    $390 is too much for a G4 cube. A guy on these forums gave three away if you reimbursed him for shipping. $390 would go a long way, I would pass I expect you can get a G4 Cube for less than $100USD
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    That's a bit much for a Cube unless it's in mint condition and you want one now. Although, the speakers alone are $30-$50.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #6
    The problem is I live in Spain, so getting one from Usa is really difficult.
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    I'm not really good with non-US prices. You may have to do some of your own research for a good price for that machine.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    shipping to spain is only about $70USD. so if you got a cube for $100 + $70 shipping, you can spend the $220 difference on some neat PPC software.
     
  9. GermanyChris, Sep 27, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012

    macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    Do you like it?

    Does the price seen reasonable?

    If you answered yes to the questions above then get it. Prices in Europe are different than the US.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #10
    Where?? On ebay??
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #11
    Duh. My kids have been playing extremely outdated games on my old performa's a couple of weeks ago. I also installed basic on my ipad and my son has been trying very simple code every time he could put his hands on it.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #12
  13. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #13
  14. macrumors 6502

    skateny

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #14
  15. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Yep. Cubes can have up to a dual 1.8Ghz G4 installed in them with 1.5GB of ram. There's just one eBay seller to avoid due to his grossly overinflated prices. His Cubes are identifiable as having a bonsai tree in some of the pictures.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    skateny

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #16
    Amazing the things I've learned here. I'm not in the market for one, so I'm safe. For now.

    Years ago I was offered a Mac TAM edition. I passed on it. I'm not a collector. When I buy a computer, I want to use it, and I'm afraid that, at least by now, I'd be very frustrated with a 250MHz PowerPC 603e.

    I do love the look though.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Davy.Shalom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #17
    I got one that included the apple cinema display with ADC connector for $165 off of ebay. My advice would be to keep looking.
     
  18. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    You should have gotten that. Even if you wouldn't use a TAM, they're great to have. You can also upgrade the CPU in TAMs. I think the fastest is a 500Mhz or 700Mhz G3.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    skateny

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #19
    Yes, I should have.

    Someone gave it to the guy as a gift, and he never opened it. At the time, my wallet was distracted elsewhere.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #20
    With how rare* cubes are there is a collectors market a $400 range is usual, not to say that you could find some cheaper and in varying conditions.
     
  21. macrumors 68030

    joepunk

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    a profane existence
    #21
    A bit pricy for a Cube but than that is in Europe

    I would love to have a TAM. Also I would still like to have a Cube. An art teacher who had a cube in her office told me to be careful of the power button.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    There's too much speculation on these now, there's still to many that you can find someone willing to sell you one for $50 and then theres the speculators on ebay that try to sell dual cpu upgraded cubes for $1200. As with everything at the moment, it's a buyers market if you have spare change. Keep looking until you find one at the right price. There's plenty of cubes, not so many TAMs
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #23
    I would buy a cube but i blew all my money that i got from selling my g5 on building a pc and then hackintoshing it
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #24
    If I could get a cube with a CPU in excess of 1.25Ghz, I would seriously consider it to replace my PMG4.
     
  25. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #25
    It isn't possible in Cube. But Dual Processor is ;). "Slight" but substantial difference.
     

Share This Page