Buying a Cheap PC DAW Slave Question

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by fastlanephil, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    What's the best route for acquiring a cheap PC box for use as a DAW slave. I see cheap ones online but I want at least three 3.5 HD bays, a reliable power supply and it needs to be quiet. Quiet is very important but just minimum onboard graphics.

    Should I drive to a FRYS and have a sales person help me with choosing the components?

    Maybe have a shop construct one if they are competitive with costs?

    Find a PC geek that will tell me what component to order?

    Any thought on this?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    i did this for awhile running a hackintosh - worked great until i needed more cpu (of course, now those amazing i7 chips are out now, cheap by comparison!)

    i'm with you on the noise though - i could not get the thing quiet. it's possible if you deal with the expensive specialty fans, but otherwise - since it's a slave and all - why not just have it in another room and screenshare/vlc it?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #3
    I've researched this and it look like if you want t cheap PC it will be noisy.

    There's a room next to me but I gave it to my lady friend use it for her own space but she's not in there much.

    I also have a high crawl space under the house. Maybe I could stick it down there if it's legal.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    http://www.quietpc.ca/

    that might help.

    i have my mac pro in another room - the only time i access it is when i'm tweaking a vep5 template. as quiet as they are, i'm happy to never hear it.

    i'm curious about your crawl space having a legal issue?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #5
    I probably could have a PC down there. I have seen houses with furnaces in their crawl space.

    The issue might be installing an electrical outlet that would be code or just running an electrical cord down there. I do have a dead 220 volt line down there which I had put in during construction for a hot tube option. I think I could have an electrician install an outlet with a 220 to 110 converter and after running the cat cable down there and something stable to set the PC on with lighting, I would be good to go. With the moister barrier it seems to be dry and never very warm or very cold.
     

Share This Page