Buying a mac... Need some help quick, you will like this one iGary!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nospleen, Jun 17, 2006.

  1. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I am getting ready to go down to my local Apple Store. I am buying a mac to use with Aperture. I have the option of getting the 20" intel iMac with the upgraded graphics card. (they stock it) Or, buying a G5 Dual 2.0 and 20" Cinema Display. I do not mind paying the premium for the Powermac. But, is it even faster than the imac in Aperture? I know Aperture is big on Graphics cards, and I am not sure which is better. Can someone chime in quick... I am looking to go down there asap. I did a search and could not find anything...

    Thanks!!
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    It honestly has to do more with how much full screen editing you think you will be doing - that is when a big video card really comes into play with Aperture (and why Apple designed a software program that uses a video card to process data when I have four coures dying to do so, I have no idea :rolleyes: ).

    That said, I would get the PM, as you can always upgrade if you find you need more -can't do that with the iMac...

    Another Mac? :confused: :D I knew there was something I liked about you.
     
  3. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #3
    Hey man! I would go for the PM simply because should something happen down the road you are more likely to be able to fix it. For example, if the display goes out of the iMac then you are without the computer until it gets fixed. With the powermac you just send in the display and hook up another while it is gone. As iGary said, you can upgrade the PowerMac more down the road as well.
     
  4. twistedlegato macrumors 65816

    twistedlegato

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #4
    wait dont you have a macbook??? Could you use that? Apple uses Aperature to Advertise the macbook screens...but are they just stretching the truth? And i bet you need a bigger screen so do what you need to do!!!
     
  5. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #5
    I would get the iMac if you need it's slight portability.

    If you don't, PowerMac all the way
    :)
     
  6. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #6
    He had a macbook but sold it.
     
  7. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
  8. nospleen thread starter macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I actually didn't buy anything yet. I went down to the store, but I was having trouble pulling the trigger. I figured I might as well wait until WWDC. I could not decide on one, so I thought it would be best to wait it out a bit. I did buy Aperture and order my new DSLR though...
     
  9. m-dogg macrumors 65816

    m-dogg

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #9
    No - That's just iPhoto '06 in full-screen edit mode.

    Nice, huh?
     
  10. DanielGilbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Having just spent an entire day gawping at Macs in the London Mac store, I can tell you that using the G5 with dual 30" ACD's is quite simply awesome. I'd suggest the G5 over the iMac because of the dual screen ability (I understand it is harder to do on the iMac).

    Also, load up on RAM. Unfortunately the G5 I was using seemed a big sluggish while using Aperture because it only had 512mb RAM - you certainly want more than that. :)
     
  11. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #11
    Buying a new G5 machine when Apple is kicking out that P.O.S. is crazy. Why anyone would buy old tech is a poor choice. Skip any G5 machine get the iMac but really apple is going to update both models before this summer is over and G5 will be history.
     
  12. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #12
    No. It. Isn't....

    I just helped a client do their whole office in new G5's...when Adobe is Universal, you will have a point.

    Until then.

    You don't.
     
  13. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #13
    Since when are G5's P.O.S.???

    The Quad - and all recent G5 configurations - remain extremely competent at the moment with all Intel/AMD Offerings (especially the Quad G5).

    When Intel unveils its Core 2 Duo chip, the G5s will still exceed in PowerPC applications - additionally, I wouldn't expect the '5x' faster statistics in the Mac Pro category that we've seen in other Apple products...
     
  14. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #14
    Apple has ridden itself of G5 and is almost done. G5 is and was overblown hyperbola. Anyone buying a new machine with a old cpu that locks them into what will be old PPC software is nuts. Jesus my single AMD 3500 was matching 2 -2.0 G5s for petes sake. Buying a new machine with the last of the G5s just isnt looking to the future. G5 was a heat monster that offered little over G4 at the same clock except for that one or two apps. Jobs booted it out quick. Intel is now the future Mac not yesterdays PPCs
     

Share This Page