buying a new mac.. how do I switch my stuff?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by UnixMac, Aug 25, 2006.

1. UnixMac macrumors 6502

UnixMac

I've never done this before, even though I've had a few new macs in the past 8 years.. I've always started with a new slate, but this time I've got A LOT of stuff on my current dual G5 that I'd rather just be able to transfer over to my new mac pro..

Can I just boot the G5 into "Target" mode and suck all of the apps over to the Pro? Including Photoshop, Little Snitch, and email accounts, etc? Is there a limit of what you can import and what you can't?

thanks

2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king

Please search next time.

You can copy stuff (files, applications, preferences, etc..) from another machine as part of an OS X install, or use the Migration Assistant if you are not going to be reinstalling OS X.

3. UnixMac thread starter macrumors 6502

UnixMac

thanks for the answer, but maybe you can help me out since tried with no luck prior to posting my question. I mean, maybe I'm not very good at doing this, but how do you type in a search string for what I was looking for if you're not at all familiar with what the process is even called?

"Copy Software" or "copy from old computer to new"... :confused:

4. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

Ignore him. There's a lot of people who will throw a RTFM or "Search next time" and expect that to sound friendly. Nevermind the fact that for them searching is easy since as you said, they know the terms used for such an action. They seem to forget that not everyone is a "genius" like themselves. So ignore that comment above and go with the flow. Life is too short to worry about a bunch of people online who think they know it all. Best of luck on getting that data transfered. If you have trouble, just post a question. Someone will help, there are a few of those people around still.

5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king