BUYING A POWERBOOK

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by AP_piano295, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. AP_piano295 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #1
    :confused: i cant decide between the top of the line powerbook 15' the cheeper 15 the price difference wont be extremely larage because I wont keep the superdrive in the top of the line but will the 128 graphics card make enough difference to be worth it. :confused:
     
  2. eleveneastgate macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    What are you gonna do with the pB?

    What kind of programs are you using now or would like to use?

    Your question is kinda vague...
     
  3. AP_piano295 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #3

    sry some minor graphics art only for the fun of it Bryce 5, A few games I am not hardcore gammer by any means halo, warcraft 3 im not highly worried about quality just so long as I get good frame rates. Im not geting one for a long while after this so im not sure how well the 64 will hold up over the years I dont know the quality of the powerbook videocards.
     
  4. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Get the upgraded video card, the 5400 rpm HD, and atleast 512 ram. You should really try and put a gig of ram if you can afford it. I only have 512 ram in mine and wish i had 1 gig because i know i would see a difference in gaming.
     
  5. raptorhigh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    #5
    I was in the same position, but since I almost always have a second monitor hooked up I went for the 128MB version. With student developer prices it was still less than the lower model.
     
  6. wnameth macrumors 65816

    wnameth

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I would go with the 15" 1.67 GHZ powerbook, if you can dish out the extra cash then do it. You only live once :D
     
  7. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #7
    Was just looking at the tech specs on the PowerBooks. Are the SuperDrives dual layer? Because I noticed the +/-
     
  8. jim. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    C-ville, VA
    #8
    +/- and dual layer are not the same thing. I am pretty sure that Apple computers do not support DL burning at this time.

    Jim
     
  9. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #9
    Oh ok. I saw a MicroCenter AD today that had the +/- thing and it said dual layer, so I just put two and two together and I was wrong :eek:

    So if "-" is single layer (not sure if that's the correct term) and "+" is dual layer, what is "+/-"?
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    DVD types
     

Share This Page