Buying a used 2009 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacPro2013, Aug 29, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #1
  2. macrumors 68030

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    If it's in decent shape - I'd say it is a very good buy - including the shipping charge. But, on eBay, you just never know.

    Lou
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #3
    Price is certainly tempting. I like Expercom personally when buying used stuff.

    2008 MacPro 3,1 8-core 2.8
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Kissaragi

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #4
    Hardly any photos or information, Id be tempted to keep looking.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    I think a current gen Mac Mini would be a better solution for the same money.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    I did a search for similar models with the "completed listings" flag enabled. This tells you what they are actually selling for (and not selling for). It seems to be a fair to slightly high price, but definitely not a good deal. There are plenty that sold for less without the case damage, so I'd look at other listings or wait if there isn't anything better at the moment.

    That being said, a Mac Mini at the same price is indeed a better computer for your stated purpose. But if you have upgrades in mind, the Pro is the way to go and the 2009 is the sweet spot because you can upgrade just as well as the 2012 version.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    craigslist, ebay, usedmacs.us they got some cheap ones there without the hassle
     
  8. macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #9
    Thanks guys.
    Thats good info about the other sites. I will keep looking. :)
     
  10. Studio K, Aug 29, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    The 'normal' price for this 2009 Mac Pro on Ebay is $800 lately. So the OWC price is reasonable I think.

    I think that OWC is the way to go if you really want one of these. They are reputable and will likely ship it properly and have warranty as well.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #11
    hmm good deal
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    I think it is fair on ebay;)However, you can have a look on other site, if the price is almost the same, that depends on you. ;)
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #13
    I think I would pass on that. If you could verify that it is actually good, it would be a good price, but with the very sparse information posted, it seems almost like there is something to hide.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #14
    Being a single CPU model it will come with a single CPU tray. You will not be able to add another CPU unless you buy a dual CPU tray which costs about $700 . I'd suggest looking for a model with a dual CPU.
     
  15. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    Considering OP's stated purpose, I think dual CPU adds to the expense for no gain whatsoever.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #16
    Hey,
    For a quad-core 2009 model, $750-ish is not a bad price for a baseline model.

    The cheapest 8-core models were running just over a $1000.

    I think when buying on ebay, you want a reputable seller, pictures of the actual model, and some idea that they will pack and ship it to you, in a manner that will guarantee it will work when it arrives.

    Overall, the OWC computers aren't badly priced. And when you figure the memory they put in it should be good quality (as well as the SSD's), then they may actually be worth it.

    For what you want to do a Mac Pro may be overkill, but they are beautiful to work with, and work on. You can stuff it full of RAM and run some virtual machines nicely, so you can't really go wrong.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #17
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #18
    I bought an Early 2008 Mac Pro
    2 X 2.8GHz Quad core, 4GB RAM and 250GB Harddisk for $450 on ebay.

    I thought it is good deal and grabbed it.

    Just received the machine, couple of dents but can't complain. The machine looks cool :D

    I will be creating few virtual machines for my development purposes but I think before that I need to grab extra RAM and HDD.

    ----------

    What do you guys think about this RAM

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-8X2GB-...4332277?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item43afecac75

    Is it compatible with Mac?
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #20
    Please note that only "Dual Rank" FB-DIMM modules are compatible with your MP3,1. You need to contact the seller to find out if they are dual rank, normally 2R as part of their serial number. Also note that in Lou's link to his supplier, the modules are only up to 4GB per DIMM at much higher price. That almost confirms that your eBay link is selling "Quad Rank" modules which are incompatible with MP. They are just too cheap to be dual rank, but I could be wrong.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #21
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Location:
    YSSY
    #22
    Correct.

    I just upgraded my 2009 Quad Core to a W3690 hexacore (at 3.46 Ghz) after doing the 2009->2010 EFI upgrade.

    Works like a charm.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #23
    Yep. You will also need to upgrade the firmware from 4.1 to 5.1 so you could use Westmere Processors and faster ram at 1333mhz
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #24
    im tempted but dunno if its worth it with no tb
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #25
    tb = Thunderbolt?

    Is there something you really need Thunderbolt for? For me it would be nice to have, but since i don't need it, i bought a used MP 4.1 2.66 quad some weeks ago*...

    *And then i couldn't resist upgrading it.
     

Share This Page