BUYING ADVICE - 512 MB RAM, DVD RW or Office 2004?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Shaun.P, Aug 12, 2004.

1. Shaun.P macrumors 68000

Shaun.P

I recently received my exam results and my parents are appearently meant to be buying me a gift. There are a few things that I would like:

512 MB PC100 Memory for my computer (currently has 640) Would I notice any difference? ~ £80

A Lacie DVD-RW (£140) - http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObj...k703xiRMVrRMdqtfO3/1.4.0.6.10.11.10.1.1?29,44

Can a DVD-RW record data to CD's also?

Microsoft Office 2004 for Mac Student &Teacher Edition ~ £116
    (Do I have to prove I'm a student to install this software? I'm 17 and at high school/secondary school, I know the licence is only valid if you have a student card, I don't because I'm not at Uni, but I am a student and I think i'm entitled to it.

Which item do you think is best to buy? Or is there any other things that you think are cool that I'd like? I have an iPod, g3 600Mhz snow iMac with a 40gb hdd and 640MB ram.

Thanks in advance.

2. Kingsnapped macrumors 6502a

Kingsnapped

Yes.
    I think you'll be safe. I know plenty of people who got it in High School.

As for what to get.. it depends on what you think you could get the most use of. Remember to say thank you to the 'rents.

3. LeeTom macrumors 68000

LeeTom

You have plenty of RAM, so I'd go for the DVD-RW. Then burn yourself a copy of someone else's Office! HAHA, just kidding. I would go with the drive though.

Lee Tom

4. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

5. Shaun.P thread starter macrumors 68000

Shaun.P

LOL! I don't know anyone who has office for mac I have AppleWorks - I know it's old etc but I do basic word processing. I'd download Office 2004 from p2p, but the thing is, the program prob sends your data to Microsoft and they'll know I have used it illegally...

6. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw