Buying Advice: More RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by dmw007, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #1
    I was wondering if I should upgrade my 2.3GHz Power Mac G5's RAM- from 1 to 2GB.

    I mainly use it for the internet (Mac Rumors mostly), e-mail, iTunes (lots and lots of iTunes), M$ Word & PowerPoint, and gaming (Doom III, rise of nations, etc... My sister also uses it on occasion (when I let her), mainly AOL & GarangeBand.

    I also use Virtual PC 7 w/ XPee Home Edition.
    When I run VPC it uses about half of my RAM- leaving a paltry 512MB free which in turn gets used by Mac OS and my running apps- leaving me with like 12MB of RAM free! VPC feels rather sluggish, so upping my RAM would allow me to give this app some more memory, hopefully increasing performance.

    I was looking at buying 1GB (2x512MB chips) of RAM from Crucial.com to stick in my G5.


    Any thoughts/advice are appreciated! :D
     
  2. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #2
    I just increased my Dual 2Ghz Power Mac from 1 to 2GB last week. All I can say is Do it!. I just ordered 2GB for my son's G5 1.8Ghz iMac as well :eek:
     
  3. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #3
    More RAM is always better.

    Only in the "distant" pass was it not worth it. Now that you can load 4-8GB of it into a machine and the costs have dropped, its definetely worth it just for the speed increase/multitasking it allows you to do.

    I remember when 128MB of RAM was $500. Even $1000 before that.

    RAM is relatively cheap for what it does. To get the same "speed" increase you used to have to upgrade the whole machine.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Other than the Virtual PC, your 1 Gb is good. But that darned Windows...

    Have a look at Data Memory Systems as well, before you decide on vendor. They are an honest company with fair prices on tested Mac compatible RAM and excellent service.
     
  5. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #5
  6. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  7. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #7
    If you can afford more RAM, the I'd purchase extra. The 2 GB RAM should provide a noticeable improvement in performance.
     
  8. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    Thanks everyone for your responses! :)

    I guess that tonight I will have to order an additional 1GB of RAM for my G5.

    Second question-
    Is there a better brand of RAM for my Power Mac G5 (ie- in terms of speed, performance, stability, etc...)? I was going to go with RAM from Crucial since they seem to be one of the better manufacturers to go with. Would there be any difference between RAM from Crucial and say OWC's brand of RAM?

    Thanks Again! :)
     
  9. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    Sounds good wdlove! I was hoping that going from 1GB to 2GB of RAM would provide a noticeable increase in performance.

    Guess that I have no other option than to buy more RAM (yay)! :D
     
  10. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10
    Wow, I am sure glad that the price of RAM has since fallen.
     
  11. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #11
    You should go with Crucial RAM. Most members on the forum recommend them. ;)
     
  12. purdueboiler87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #12
    I added 2 gigs and then I saw they had 512 (Centon brand) chips at CompUSA for $35 after rebate. I know everyone talks about what memory is best but I haven't had any problems. I added another 2 gigs to get me to 4.5. I saw the biggest increase in performance going from 512 to 2.5 gig.
     
  13. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #13
    Thanks for the recommendation. I will be placing my order for RAM from Crucial tonight! :)
     
  14. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #14
    Glad to hear that you received a nice performance boost when you upped your RAM. Hope I see the same thing! :)
     
  15. VicMacs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    #15
  16. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #16
    Thanks for the link VicMacs! :)

    However, I already placed the order for RAM from Crucial. Can not wait for it to come.

    Just think how happy my Power Mac G5 will be
    when it has 2GB of RAM! ;) :)
     
  17. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #17
    Well, the RAM is slated for delivery next monday (9/12/05). Can not wait for it to arrive at my doorstep! :)
     
  18. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #18
    Its here!

    The RAM from Crucial has finally arrived and is now installed in my Power Mac G5! :D

    So far, so good. Performance seems to be better/smoother. I have not noticed a huge jump in performance as my G5 was plenty fast before the upgrade. Still, my Mac seems to have even more spunk now that it has 2GB of DDR SDRAM in it. :)
     
  19. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
  20. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #20
    You can never be too rich, too thin, or have too much RAM. (Or so they say.)

    Anyway, I'm the resident contrarian when it comes to RAM. I think the reason most people feel like they never have enough is because they rarely log out or reboot their Mac. If they did this occasionally, all those nasty virtual memory swap files would be deleted and they'd notice a big improvement in performance immediately. So they finally shut the Mac down to install a bunch of RAM -- and bingo! a huge speedup! It must be the extra RAM! Ah, not necessarily...

    Ironically, if you frequently run RAM-gulpers like VPC, you're still going to get swap files, and you're still going to slow down, and you're still going to need to log out or reboot to get it back. The only real difference is, you probably won't need to do it quite so often.
     
  21. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #21
    Well, I went and "did it", and I am glad that I did.

    Seems that the move from 1GB to 2GB yielded better/smoother performance.
    If anyone else is in a similar situation of deciding whether or not to buy more RAM, I say to go ahead and do it;

    More RAM = Faster Mac! :)
     
  22. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #22
    Well, all three seem to be true statements IJ Reilly.

    I restart my Power Mac G5 almost daily so that helps keep the RAM/swap files from getting overly bogged down.

    Very true about people not rebooting their Macs/PeeCees often enough to speed them up and complaining about how they now need more & more RAM. Good call IJ Reilly! :)
     
  23. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #23
    Well, there is that sad condition known as bulimia... :eek:
     
  24. dmw007 thread starter macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #24
    True...yikes... :eek: ;)
     
  25. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #25
    Happy t hear the latest news of increased performance. I usually restart mine once a week.
     

Share This Page