Buying advice, Pro v. 24" iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by CatharticFlux, Nov 17, 2006.

1. CatharticFlux macrumors member

Hello! Loooong time lurker and macophile, recent owner. I finally took the easy way out by buying my wife a Macbook and 'borrowing' it excessively, which inevitably made me want to rush out and get one of my own.

So what are my needs? I'm big into photography--though I'm not a professional and will never be a profeesional. I have, however, spent an embarrassing amount of money on camera gear, lenses, etc. and I'm way past the point where Picasa + Photoshop are enough. I tried the Lightroom beta, but it was agonizingly slow, plus I prefer the Aperture GUI.

So photoshop, aperture, dreamweaver performance is important, as is image quality. Snappiness is a must, though I understand that OS X snappiness has been an ongoing issue. I have a 24" Dell monitor (the 2405FPW) that has left me underwhelmed, but I keep just because of the sheer size and resolution. This originally made me think about getting the mac pro and using my existing monitor, but now I'm wondering if the 24" LCD in the iMac is better than my Dell. The 23" Monitor certainly is, but what about the 24"? Is it worth throwing away my current monitor?

My current machine is a Athlon64 3500+, 2GB DDR400, 7800GT, 320GB SATA drive. On paper, the 2.16GHz Core 2 Duo + 2GB DDR2667 should punish my current machine, what about in praxis? Will I feel underwhelmed if I don't get the Mac Pro?

Thanks in advance!

2. PieMac macrumors 6502a

I sold my Macbook Pro and bought 24" iMac and I have to say, the screen on this thing is gorgeous and really does blow away any screen that I've worked with in the past (and this includes a 20" Apple studio display) and I, too, do a lot of photography...and am even starting to generate some income from a little freelance work :)