Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Eggtastic

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 9, 2009
NJ
I am still up in the air on what the hell to do about my next laptop.

I have a 2011 11" MBA that is need of upgrading. I was going to go with a 2015 rMB, then waited for that update which was very little however the extra hour of battery life did appeal to me. So now I was all set to get the 2016 rMB, but then the rumors starting pouring in about the rMBP.

I honestly could just deal with a rMB for my needs and even consider a low-end rMB. However I tend to keep my laptops for 4-5 years or longer.

With the rMBP announcement and price gouging that they are pulling has put me in a weird spot. Not only that but a 2016 rMB M5 is $1599 is stupid expensive. So is the rMBP 13" w/ touch bar at $1,799 which I may not even want (still want to check it out though).

I have been checking the apple refrub but they dont have the color combo and processor I want showing up at their store (I will keep checking though).

I have some ebay people offering to sell flawless rMB m5 with apple care and saying there isn't any physical flaws on it. These sellers also have a 100% feedback rating and the price would be a lot cheaper than going through apple refurb.

Has anyone bought from a trusted ebay seller and had any luck?

gooser

macrumors 6502a
Jul 4, 2013
over the years i have bought eight apple laptops from e-bay and have been well satisfied with seven of them. and the one i returned and got a refund so i guess i've been lucky.

Trey M

macrumors 6502a
Jul 25, 2011
USA
FWIW I'm strongly considering selling my barely used Macbook 2016 m7 512GB space grey, let me know if you'd be interested in a possible transaction either in or outside of eBay

sostoobad

macrumors regular
Nov 5, 2011
Boston
As a buyer you are totally protected on ebay and paypal, I have bought and sold about 10 apple computers with no problems.