Buying my First MAC plz advise me !! to use LOGIC 7

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ongo, Jan 7, 2006.

  1. ongo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #1
    Hi folks


    decided to purchase my first mac

    I am upgrading my PC to Mac to be able to use LOGIC 7 (fed up of buggy 5.5 PC version)

    I am considering the QUAD model and my first questionis this
    will LOGIC 7 take full advantage of a QUAD system or is DUAL plenty ?

    second question (I am sure has been asked numerous times !)

    What is the difference betwwen ECC RAM and NON ECC RAM ?
    which one should I get (keep in mind that I prefer paying a bit more to get better result)

    and How much RAM should I get to get a mean machine ??

    but then again Do I really need ECC RAM to work with LOGIC 7 ?

    Third question

    Can I keep my old my old LG monitor ??? (19inch)

    or do you advise to get the MAC monitor ???

    Any other advise is appreciated THX again
     
  2. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #2
    A dual core would hold you fine with Logic 7, but if you can afford the
    Quad, by all means go for it.
    Plan on buying at least 2 GB of extra 3rd party RAM.
    If you go for the Quad, start with at least 2 GB, but plan on 4 GB RAM.

    You don't need ECC RAM unless your planning on running mission critical
    applications and cluster nodes.

    DDR2 PC4200 CL 4 NON-ECC from OWC, Datamem or Crucial is fine!

    The thing is that Logic 7 could be replaced very soon with Logic 8,
    so getting the fastest machine you can afford is always a good idea.

    If you have a limited budget and still need mics, pre-amps, compressors interfaces, cables, nearfields an so on, make sure you leave yourself
    enough to have a viable system.

    If you qualify for education discounts, this will save you a considerable amount on your CPU and your Apple Pro software.

    Your monitor will be fine and even better if it has DVI input, but your PowerMac
    comes with a VGA adapter just in case.
     
  3. mopppish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #3
    Man, I hope that the next major Logic upgrade is sold as 7.2 as opposed to 8. I don't think I can afford to upgrade! A $20 disc, like the one from 7.0 to 7.1, would be great! :D
     
  4. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #4
    I'm hoping Apple takes a more aggressive position completely
    revamping Logic to take on Digidesign with a more user friendly interface adding far better support for analog tracking.
     
  5. -Jeff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #5
    I use Logic 7.1.1 on an iMac G5 1.8 GHz, and it actually runs pretty well. I can record 16 tracks simultaniously @ 24 bit 44.1KHz, and the latency is low enough that the musicians don't notice any delay during tracking.

    It really depends on how many software instruments you plan on using. They suck up a lot more CPU than audio tracks. For my purposes, I have never maxed out my CPU with compressors and eq's on every track, space designer reverbs on about half of them, pitch correction on 2 or 3 vocal tracks and sometimes on the bass. After all of the overdubs, I usually end up with about 24 audio tracks and 1 or 2 software instrument tracks.

    Check out some tunes that I recently produced with Logic and my iMac:

    http://www.myspace.com/connoreamonobrienandthebadmen
     

Share This Page