Buying powermac maybe - questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by sejanus, May 3, 2005.

1. sejanus macrumors regular

Hi,

I am a photographer and was looking at something a bit grunty to be able to speed up my wedding workflow and stuff like that a bit.

Some questions if you don't mind :)

1) I currently have a 15" 1.5ghz PB with 2gb ram & tiger. To be honest for a laptop it performs very well. I don't have easy access to a G5 - but can someone please tell me what I'm sure is obvious - is the dual 2.7ghz G5 a really big leap in performance over the powerbook? I expect it is and I want it to be for the pretty high price.

I have to work on very large files (12 and 14 megapixel cameras) and though my powerbook deals with jpegs pretty well it tends to be pretty slow with raw files.

2) Apple's ram prices are pretty wild. I'd like 4gb ram with room to go to 8gb later. Does anyone know if the Giel DDR400 1gb sticks will work fine? I know they'll fit etc., but have heard OS X can be a little finicky with ram used.

3) I like a lot of other people was expecting dual core. It ain't here - now, it'd kill me to buy this powermac and then have dual core announced a few months later - Do you think it is reasonably safe to assume the next powermac update won't be for around 9-12 months?

cheers

2. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

ZildjianKX

1) You'll see a world of difference between your powerbook and the G5. If you get the chance, take in a photo on a thumb drive to an apple store and play with it in Photoshop (usually installed).

2) I hadn't heard anything about RAM problems unless it is cheap no-namebrand RAM. If you already own it, give it a try. I personally never buy Apple RAM and get Crucial instead or half the price.