Buying Windows XP for Bootcamp - OEM or Boxed?hi there

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by register, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. register macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #1
    hi there,
    I have an intel based mac, and I'm looking to install and run windows using bootcamp. I'll be buying a copy of XP, as the other features of XP pro are no use to me. I'm just wondering if I should buy a cheaper OEM, or the proper boxed version. I'm told that I might have trouble if I need to reinstall windows using the OEM... is this ture? should I wipe my windows partition, will I be able to install / activate windows with the boxed copy only?
    I'd appreciate your help
    thanks
    tom
     
  2. evoluzione macrumors 68010

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #2
    hey tom

    get the oem, newegg.com is as good as any place to get it from.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    The only trouble you might have with OEM is in moving it to another machine. Seems like MS is being lax about enforcing that as many here have reported moving OEM licenses recently.

    B
     
  4. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #4
    I second the OEM route. I got XP MCE from NewEgg in March and it works great if you are able to follow these directions or if you have a external optical drive laying around.
     
  5. atarigraffx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    #5
    Microsoft Windows XP Pro 64-Bit (Holographic CD w/ Genuine Key)

    Item 0465


    Was $499.99
    Now $59.99
    You Save $440.00



    how about this 64 bit version of XP?
    will this run better with my Mac Pro?
    its also the cheapest version of XP i can find
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Link?

    Drivers will be the problem for XP64.

    B
     

Share This Page