1. Welcome to the new MacRumors forums. See our announcement and read our FAQ

C++ and Xcode

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Epprecht, Nov 6, 2005.

1. macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm a student learning C++, new to macs and xcode. Here's my situation: I begin a new project, choose C++ tool from the Command Line Utility Group, then write the source code. I click the build and go button and it compiles fine but will not execute. I keep getting [Session started at 2005-11-07 00:42:23 -500.] or http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y71/swissgnr/Picture1.png and thats it. A friend of mine who uses Xcode and does C++ cannot figure out why I keep getting this. I'm not sure if it is something I'm doing wrong or what. If anyone could help it would be much appreciated.

2. macrumors 6502a

Whyren

Welcome to MacRumors Forums!

What is your code supposed to be doing? It appears as though it is running, but there are no I/O prompts.

3. macrumors 68000

Earendil

Post a code and I'll give a looksee. No Promises though, I'm no expert on C++ under OSX, but I want to be :D

~Earendil

4. Guest

caveman_uk

That the 'Run' button is visible suggests your program isn't actually running in that screenshot - otherwise the button would say 'Terminate' and be a red stop sign.

5. macrumors newbie

Here is a screenshot of my source code; http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y71/swissgnr/source.png This program is one that I had earlier this year and completed. I've used two C++ compilers before called Cygwin and Dev++, both compile and execute the program fine. So, I'm not sure if the problem is with my code or I'm not doing something right in Xcode.

6. macrumors newbie

7. macrumors member

I am new to macs and have no idea about Xcode, but I think it means it could not find the executable you think you've just compiled/built.

8. Moderator emeritus

kainjow

Try cleaning the project. Then quit Xcode, and recompile the project. Should work (I got this exact same error a few days ago also).