C&C Generals on the MacBook (Not Pro)...?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kidman13, May 20, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Kidman13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #1
    I'm thinking about purchasing the Macbook in about 2 months and I know it's not a gaming laptop and all with the Intel GMA950 but I was just wondering, If it can handle Generals. This is the only game I'm really planning on playing on it.

    I'm hoping that the Fast DUO COre and DDR 2 Ram can compensate for the videocard and still play the game smoothly.

    Thanks In advance...
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    #2
    The best thing to do would be to find someone with a MacBook or a Mac Mini (which has the same video card) and ask them to download the free demo (there is also an update for the demo) from www.aspyr.com. Please note that C&C is not a Universal Binary just yet. So you'd have to run in under Rosetta. So that's a big double wammy. If someone does try out the free demo let us know how it runs.

    FR
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    #3
    ive played generals on my ibook 800, so it should work :)
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    debroglie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #4
    Or you could just run the XP version under boot camp...
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #5
    you are not alone, i am also concerned about the performance of macbook when playing C&C zero hours at all, is it really can run under Rottlxxx?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Pancake

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #6
    Rottlxxx? Sounds kinky.

    I'm also interested in this issue.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #7
    At my new macbook (1,83 ghz, 1gb ) Generals runs horrible, 800x600 low. I don't know why, my xp 2200+ with an gf4mx440se runs it much better. Mayby beceause rosetta? I haven't tried it at XP jet
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #8
    It will work on the Macbook Pro. I have it on my Powerbook G4, 1.6ghz, and it works..but it is slow. Since the Macbook is 5x faster, I doubt you'd experience any problems.
    gd
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
    Unlike the above post, I have heard that Generals runs like crap on even a MBP, so I doubt it would be playable on a Macbook. You can always get the PC version, which should run okay, but nothing spectacular.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #10
    x
     

Share This Page