C++....Compiling....and Unix

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by newmanium, Apr 12, 2002.

1. newmanium macrumors member

hey there, being a CS major i tend to do a heck of a lot of programming, particularly in C++. from what i read about Unix (which i really know nothing about), there is a nifty C++ compiler that came with the BSD shell built in the terminal. ive attempted to use developer tools but project builder doesnt seem to like alot of the libraries i use nor the classes i create. anyways, i wanted to give the terminal compiler a try. typing "cc -o [executable name] [file name] " is as far as i got, but with no luck. any help/suggestions, Unix users??

2. Baseline macrumors member

Well, without any compiler error messages, it's hard to tell what exactly the problem is. Your syntax (in a standard *nix environment, at least) is correct.

I've never tried building anything on OS X before (still waiting to get my first Apple).

So, what kind of compile time messages are you receiving?

3. Taft macrumors 65816

Taft

Library problem.

You are probably running into a problem that the compiler doesn't recognize the file as C++ and doesn't use the the proper libraries and options for the C++ language.

By default, the compiler favors straight C and Objective-C and sets up compilation for those languages. If you name the file with .C, .cc, or .cpp the compiler will usually set itself to the C++ language and include the appropriate libraries. I haven't had good luck with that on my system, though.

To force cc to use the C++ compiler use the c++ command (it just calls cc with the right language and library paths set).

Like: c++ -o hello hello.C

If you are really bold, you can use the hybrid C++/Objective-C compiler (you still use cc). For that, use the .M extension on your files (you may again have to mess with library stuff). That way, you can build projects in Objective-C and with Apple's application tools and still call C++ libraries.