C++ programming using Xcode

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by markoibook, Aug 3, 2004.

1. markoibook macrumors regular

Hi all,

I have knowledge of C and want to start learning C++. Traditionally, I am a Windows Programmer, but want to start coding apps for Mac OS X. What is the best approach to programming using C++ on OS X?
    From what I gather only carbon can be used with C++ - but carbon is designed for backward compatability with OS 9/8/etc - but I am not interested in this. Cocoa is OS X only (which I like), but requires objective C. However, I would rather learn C++, as this is widely used in the Windows world, so I believe that C++ would be more useful to learn than Obj-C. Would it be possible for anyone to confirm whether it would be possible to program Cocoa using C++?
    Also, does anyone know of any good Mac Development websites that have good step by step tutorials to programming in C++ using Xcode?

Cheers for your help!!!

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

You can use Cocoa via Objective-C++ but you still need to write quite a lot of plain Obj-C to get it all to tie together. Carbon is not just for backward compatability. It's an equaly valid choice.

3. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Hi, sorry to be brief - on conference call for work - but wanted to provide you with a quick answer, and, if possible, more details later.

You can use C++ within Xcode. it supports the syntax. Since you want to use Cocoa, you'll want to use Objective-C++.

Quick link to one mention of it.

You'll ultimately end up using Objective-C to interface with Cocoa elements, but you can write most of your code in C++.

4. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

I'm am at the very beginning - just entering the door - of Mac programming (well, did it for a year or two with System 7, but that was completely different...).