C2D Airport Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by giggity goo-ru, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. giggity goo-ru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    University of Southern California
    #1
    Hey guys... I was just wondering if anyone else has had any experiences with the new airport cards not connecting to open networks? Also, every time I click on the airport icon my computer hangs? Any ideas/suggestions?
     
  2. giggity goo-ru thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    University of Southern California
    #2
    anybody have any ideas? could I update firmware/clear some cache somewhere etc? This is really frustrating :confused:
     
  3. Zic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    The East of England
    #3
    My C2D MBP connects perfectly to my netgear router with the new airport card. When I click the airport menulet icon, there is a slight delay of roughly 2 seconds before the menu appears but it doesn't "hang" in any way. I just assumed this was normal.
     
  4. mattster16 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #4
    Mine also has the delay when clicking the airport icon. It is a little irritating, I wouldn't consider it a 'hang' necessarily though, just a slow response time. I'm just telling myself it will go away with the next OS update.

    I haven't had any trouble connecting to any open networks.
     
  5. Thornie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #5
    Yes I have the same problem, and I haven't the slightest clue as to why. For some reason it wont connect to my home wireless connection, unless I go into my routers set up and disable the WEP security. I have 3 other computers in my home that all connect perfectly fine. Including, an Ibook G4, iMac G5, and an old HP desktop. Basiclly, whenever the password is enabled, no matter how many times I type the password in the prompt box, it just wont connect... The same goes for the wireless connection at my school/job. Essentially anything that requires a WEP password. :confused: I hope its just a firmware issue.
     
  6. giggity goo-ru thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    University of Southern California
    #6
    well... at least I'm not alone in this :confused: except mine won't even connect when there's NO password :(. If you find a fix... please post... as will I if I find one.
     
  7. Finnxeon macrumors regular

    Finnxeon

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Vermont
    #7
    i have a core 2 duo imac, with the new airport card and i still have not been able to connect to my home network, i don't mind the cable that much, but it is an extra wire on my desk

    heres my dilemma though....My imac detects the network wirelessly, as in i can see the network in the airport drop down menu, however, when i try to connect it says "There was an error joining the airport network "fenn house"" I have tried disabling security and everything and it still doesn't connect...

    i do have the westell versalink 327w which i know has caused problems with core duo imacs, but this is a different card, and others have told me that their new c2d imac works with their westell versalink.....it's really baffling

    i could just go out and buy a new router but its one of those things that really bugs you and you feel as though you can solve it, although i have had no luck yet

    any ideas abot what could be causing this? and sorry to kinda hyjack...i didn't mean to if i did
     
  8. Opticdraft macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #8
    Similar problem, some possible solutions

    Hi there, I just recently got a new C2D MBP and had some similar problems... More specifically, my wireless connection would drop or I wouldnt be able to find my wireless connection. Not exactly sure why this is but from what I have read, it has been suggested that the aluminum causes some reception problems. Here is a comprehensive thread:
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=489910

    Here are some suggested solutions:
    1. Some say WPA works better then WEP and ppl experience less drops with this.
    2. There is some kind of script you can run that ensures that you are always connected (in the disscusion forum). Found at this link: http://yellowmug.com/blog/2006/06/26/airport-problem/

    However, what worked for me, personally is being that I have a linksys wireless G router I hacked it and increased the signal stregnth, my MBP has no problem detecting or connecting ot the network now.
    http://www.lifehacker.com/software/...n-your-60-router-into-a-600-router-178132.php

    Hope some of this helps.
     
  9. giggity goo-ru thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    University of Southern California
    #9
    thanks for the help... but Its not that I'm dropping reception, It's that I can't connect whatsoever... its giving me the message "there was an error joining ***** network."

    It's only doing that for my smc router, If I create a network with my ibook I can connect to that... just not my internet/router.

    then of course there's the wierd 5 second hang time before the drop down menu loads... all of the other things on the top bar are really snappy... thats why I don't understand this.


    ...maybe it has something to do with the card actually being a draft N card and since I'm running a b/g mixed network it's getting confused...hmm... seems very un-apple ish but I'll mess around with some settings and see if I can get it to work.
     
  10. wronski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #10
    No problems with Linksys router; though I did notice the delay when pressing the AirPort menu item.
     
  11. neophenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #11
    I had the same problems the other night, talked to applecare about it and all I got out of them was that it might be inteference. After letting the thing sit overnight, it was able to connect no problem in the morning and I haven't had an issue since.

    When you guys are having the problem, not sure if this will end up helping or not, but go to a terminal and type 'tail -f /var/log/system.log', I had errors like the following in mine:

    Oct 31 22:44:07 demon /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Resources/airport: Error: WirelessAssociate2() = 88001012 for network Open Game

    I didn't have the exact error in front of me when I talked to them, I could only remember the WirelessAssociate part, but the lady I talked to did not know what that error would be without the whole message.
     
  12. MauiBoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #12
    I found that I'd have a similar issue with my old PowerBook G4's Airport Extreme card. Generally, a reboot would fix it. That, or the next OS update. It was always flaky with the wireless access points we had at work -- it would give me "Error 4 joining network" or something similar.

    Be aware (I just saw this tonight on my MacBook Pro box): "some wireless networks are not compatible with Airport" (paraphrased). So, you may not be able to get them to work at a very fundamental level. Might try connecting through Windows, if you have BootCamp installed and a copy of XP. That would , at least, rule out the hardware.
     
  13. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #13
    my wireless connection to my university's wifi works fine.

    i do notice the delay in clicking the icon though. It may have to do something with the detection and refeshing of networks (how it lists the available ones in that menu). If you turn off the airport, the menu appears with no delay.
     
  14. Tat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #14
    the delay when clicking airport icon - normal

    The delay when clicking the airport icon on the menu bar is quite a normal thing. It happens on both PowerBook G4/OS 10.4.8 and iBook G4/OS 10.3.9.
    So it's not a MBP specific problem but just a normal thing, which is a bit annoying by the way.

    It might check available access points every time you open it, I guess.
     
  15. Finnxeon macrumors regular

    Finnxeon

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Vermont
    #15
    yes i have to agree with you:)
     
  16. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #16
    yes, thank you for restating my guess in the next post. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page