C2d?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ad noctum, Nov 28, 2006.

  1. Ad noctum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    I bought my Macbook a couple of weeks ago and am very satisfied with it (my first mac). When I view "About this Mac" it states that the computer is Core Duo, while I paid for a Core 2 Duo. It's a 2 ghz, has a 80 gig hd, 1 gig or RAM- all the other specs are in line with what I paid for, I'm just missing the 2 between the Core and the Duo. Anyone know?

    Thanks,

    Nick
     
  2. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    YES, the simi valley store.
     
  4. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    take it back and show them with your receipt. what does your receipt say? core 2 duo, and is it the same price as the online store offers or was it cheaper?
     
  5. TequilaBoobs macrumors 6502a

    TequilaBoobs

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #5
    if u paid for a c2d, and u still have the receipt exchange it for the proper specs. that would be apples loss.
     
  6. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #6
    What do the specs on the box say?

    How about System Profiler?
     
  7. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    Does anyone have a macbook C2D that they can check for the name of their chip in "about this mac" ?
     
  8. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    Box doesn't say anything about that. SP:

    Machine Name: MacBook
    Machine Model: MacBook1,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB11.0061.B03
    SMC Version: 1.4f12
     
  9. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
  10. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #10
    Every MacBook should have the specs on the box next to the UPC and serial numbers but that doesn't matter because System Profiler confirms you have a Rev A Core Duo MacBook.

    I'd go down to the Apple Store ASAP.
     
  11. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    Is that what yours says?
     
  12. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #12
    :confused:

    If it were a Core2 it would have 4MB of cache.
     
  13. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #13
    Damn, not good news.
     
  14. TequilaBoobs macrumors 6502a

    TequilaBoobs

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #14
    mine defintely says 2
     
  15. scott523 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    St Charles, MO
    #15
    The C2D MacBooks were already out a couple weeks ago. When you first buy it, you should read the specs are listed outside the box. I read the specs immediately to make sure it's C2D after I bought mines, 3 days after the launch date. You could argue with them if your receipt had MacBook C2D written on it (unlikely since they scan the barcode from the box when purchasing). Therefore, now that you've opened the box, you might have to the 10% restocking fee since there is no defect I assume and that it is (kinda) the customer's responsibility to see that s/he has right product. You may not be able to return at all since a couple weeks is the deadline for Mac returns.
     
  16. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
  17. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #17
    I am outside of the two weeks, but I asked the clerks repeatedly if this computer was C2D and was assured that it was... I've just been too busy with this damn degree to think too much about it since.

    I thought that since it was the correct clock speed, the right hd, and the right ram (I thought that the cache was L2 X2 thus L4). This sucks.
     
  18. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #18
    yes that is what mine says.
    this is under Profiler:

    Machine Name: Mac
    Machine Model: MacBook2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB21.00A5.B00
    SMC Version: 1.13f3
     
  19. richard4339 macrumors 6502a

    richard4339

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #19
    Go to the store and talk to the manager and try to get it replaced with the model you paid for or ask for the difference in money since the older ones are selling for less now. Your only other option is to deal with it (not trying to be rude, but thats all you can do).

    Also, the fact that it has a gig of ram is puzzling, none of the CD models came with 1gig default, only the MBPs did. I think you could easily argue something is up.
     
  20. macman2790 macrumors 6502a

    macman2790

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
    #20
    I think that they should give you an exchange without a restocking fee considering that you asked the clerks repeatedly. You thought you were getting the latest and greatest, but you got a slightly outdated machine for the latest and greates price. You should get your money or computer exchanged with no problem, but i wouldn't put it past them to screw you, especially some of the mac geniuses, some of them are very arrogant, well at least at my local apple store.
     
  21. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #21
    I got this the day that the C2D came out, and it seemed a little fast that they would have the product in stock. They also did not have the C2D on the floor at the time but claimed that the ones they were selling were C2D.
     
  22. Ad noctum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    #22
    yeah that's what threw me, then I forgot about it since I had some much going on with school. AND I waited for 3 months for the C2D!!! GRRRRRRR
     
  23. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #23
    If you asked the clerks then you have a strong case. If you asked the clerks and had a witness present (friend, etc) you have an even stronger case. Anyway, you have a receipt and you have this mac... you want it replaced! You could just be an average joe, your first mac, how were you to know how to check the specs?
     
  24. Dynatos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #24

    That's completely different from what Ad Noctum posted. Ad Noctum posted the following, and I'll do a step-by-step for you.

    Machine Name: MacBook
    Machine Model: MacBook1,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core Duo Note the lack of '2' between Core and Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB Note the 2MB cache instead of the C2D 4MB cache
    Memory: 1 GB Note the amount of RAM. C2D MPB ships with minimum of 2GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB11.0061.B03
    SMC Version: 1.4f12


    Elisha, yours is a C2D - Ad Noctum's is a CD.
     
  25. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #25
    They are talking about the C2D MB, not the C2D MBP;), and anyway, doesn't the MBP ship with 1GB RAM standard, not 512?
     

Share This Page