Cable HDTV on a G5 (software)?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by hotwire132002, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #1
    OK, I've read all about the HDTV over Firewire dealio:

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20040426151111599

    My question is--is there any more user-friendly way to do this? I'd give up the capability to record, If I could just watch live. Any ideas?

    BTW--The reason I want to do this is that I can't afford an HD set right now, so I'd like to just subscribe to Charter HD, and use it with my Mac.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
  3. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #4
    You're not missing anything--that's not quite what I'm looking for. Any other ideas?
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    How's this look?

    Edit: Nevermind, thats just for terrestrial HDTV, which isn't widely offered in the US yet.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #6
    Well, it has an HDTV input via BNC. I'm sure you could get an adapter from your cable box, and then see live HDTV from the cable box on your screen.

    Lee Tom
     
  7. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    Actually, there are a fair number of people who can get the signal (see here), and that number's increasing. For people in a broadcast area with a Mac and decent monitor, that $349 isn't too bad.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #8
    That was my backup plan--but cable would be nice :)
     
  9. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #9
    Wouldn't you still need an HDTV tuner if you're going to use off-air HDTV signals?
     
  10. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #10
    That's what the EyeTV 500 does (which crazzyeddie linked to above).
     
  11. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #11
    Oh, OK. I got lost in the direction of the thread. (Must be some sort of record on a 7 post thread)

    I was thinking that the original poster was looking soley for a software option.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #12
    You're not lost--I'd prefer a software only option. (Not including the HDTV Cable box) I know there's a way to RECORD HDTV with a Mac, then watch it. I'd like to watch it live through the Mac, I don't care so much about recording. I'm looking for a better program than VirtualDVHS to do this.
     

Share This Page