Cable modem - any kind?

Discussion in 'Community' started by P-Worm, May 31, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #1
    Comcast (the cable internet provider for my area) is now open for my house. I want to change my DSL account to cable, but I have some questions:

    There is a monthly fee to rent the modem. They said that I can get the normal rate if I buy the modem. Will nay generic cable modem work? If so, what do you suggest?

    I heard from somebody that if the connection starts getting bogged down with users that they will instal another line. Does anyone know if Comcast will do this?

    P-Worm
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    funkywhat2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    #2
    My Uncle has Comcast out in Indiana, and he has a generic Linksys Cable Modem. However, he's had a few problems with it.

    If you are to buy one I think that the Motorola SurfBoard Modems are the best. Avoid the 3Com one that looks like a shark's fin, they're pretty crappy.

    Good luck with it.

    Also: What do you think of DSL? I may end up getting it, with cable being so damned expensive where I am and the dial-up I am being forced to use so incredibly slow.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #3
    Surfboard modems or that extera one...

    I have a surf board, but I heard the 3Comm ones blow.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #4
    Surfboard here too, works great. Makes my airport base station happy:)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Surfboard here works great. Nothing to compare it to though... except an Teryon which sucks ass. (spelling may be off on that)
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    :p

    (... I think I am in love ... )
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    ;)
     
  8. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #8
    i have a linksys. it has trouble establishing a connection after almost every load balancing (which the bastards do every month, they're too cheap to get enough equipment)... i can't say that i would buy linksys again.

    i think Apple needs to make a cable modem add-on that communicates well with the Mac, since there's an obvious unfilled need for this :)

    in my dreams, i suppose...

    pnw
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #9
    Weird. I have the Linksys modem and I've never had any issues with it. But I agree on the SurfBoard -- several people I know use it and have no problems.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #10
    I think you should purchase the modem, instead of renting it every month. my company COX Cable, charges around $5 a month. I purchased the modem for $75.
    in the long run, you will be paying more if you rent it. just something to think about.
    good luck
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #11
    Thanks guys. Yeah I'm looking to buy it and I'm strongly leaning to that SurfBoard model.

    Funkywhat2-

    DSL has been OK. It's much faster than dial-up, but not in the Cable range. I typically am seeing about 50K, but I think I am on the outskirts of the 'circle of acceptance.' DSL gets slower with distance from the central hub. Try calling to see what you will typically get. In my area, DSL and cable are the same price. Why not upgrade?

    P-Worm
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    medea

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Location:
    Madison, Wi
    #12
    i bought mine from comcast and they gave me an rca, no problems with it though it's not a brand I would have ever thought to buy.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    funkywhat2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    #13
    Thanks for the info. I'm close to the central hub, so it shoutdn't be that much of an issue, but I will miss my Optimum Online. It may come back in the fall (yay!!!!)
    :D :D
     
  14. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #14
    I have OOL, they are kinda annoying, (they called me when I was downloading UT2K3 Demo because they thought I was using P2P! :mad: )
     
  15. macrumors 603

    shadowfax

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #15
    LOL. sounds like a mom and pop organization that phones your house to tell you you've been looking at porn and chide you for it (or tell your parents if you're underage.) hahaha, trashé, trashé!
     
  16. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #16
    Not really, they are owned by Cablevision
    should be here
    But right now I'm not getting through.

    I was getting like 300 KB/sec for a large demo and aparently it was downloading 2 times, so i guess they red flagged me... :eek:
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #17
    I have Adelphia cable modem service and they gave me a Terayon TJ715 modem that has been really good so far.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    funkywhat2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    #18
    Really? I've never been flagged down, even after d/ling like six things at once. Had lots of bandwidth at my disposal, but it was at like, fivr in the morning. I'm not much for sleep.
     
  19. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #19
    Trust me, I wasn't even trying to overuse my bandwitch!

    Plus they cap you so what the hell is there problem? :confused:

    It was sorta weird, they just wanted to know what the hell I was doing, they are the ISP, it aint hard to see when I am downloading off of legal sites... :eek:
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    tpjunkie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    Man, I've done a lot worse than that at home, and I'm on comcast...they've never ever complained about it either....now that I'm at school, my brother runs a hotline server off the thing, and has been for about 5 months, and they haven't complained yet
     
  21. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #21
    Yeah but that is constantly.

    Mine was my download peaked around 700 KB/sec...:rolleyes:
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC, USA
    #22
    I've got Comcast, too. And I'm renting the modem because when we got it the modem were out-the-a** expensive. The $5 a month charge seemed easy to swallow. Now every Sunday advertisement offers a Cable Modem for <$50 if you buy new service. Well, obviously I'm not getting new service to buy the modem. And, heh, I don't pay the bills.

    But, seriously, buy the modem for cheap from Circuit City or Best Buy or someplace like that. You can save a lot if you get it with rebates or discounts, plus get all the enjoyment of high-speed surfing without paying Comcast for the modem continually. It's akin to renting your phone from Mama Bell back in the day, sheer ripoff.
     

Share This Page