CAD Programs on Mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Phatpat, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. Phatpat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #1
    Just curious if anyone has tried any CAD programs yet. I'm specifically interested in AutoCAD and Pro/Engineer. From everything I've heard, it sounds like they will run just fine, but I'd like to here from somebody who has tried it.

    Update: So, so far Solidworks runs well.

    Anything else?
     
  2. CoMpX
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    Well with BootCamp you will be able to run these programs directly under Windows XP on your Mac.
     
  3. johnbro23
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    I'm not too worried about Autocad - I've never had speed issues with that program. Now I am interested in seeing how 3ds viz runs in XP on a Mac.
     
  4. howesey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #4
    Wouldn't mind knowing how good CATIA runs on Mac hardware.
     
  5. Linx
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    My friend just installed SolidWorks on a demo 20" iMac at my work. He ran some stress tests on some parts he is working on. He was VERY happy with the results.
     
  6. Takumi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    Gunma, Japan
    #6
    I might make the jump if Surpac, vulcan, Datamine among others works well.

    Takumi
     

Share This Page