CAD software for PPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jethryn Freyman, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. Jethryn Freyman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Anybody got any recommendations?

    I'd give more detail, and yes I've googled, but in a hurry out of the house right now ~:

    <3
     
  2. MisterKeeks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    3D or 2D?

    Nameci uses TurboCAD, which is paid. I'm compiling FreeCAD from source, and it almost is done. Unfortunately, I don't know how to package it and make an installer yet, so you would have to compile it from source as well, which ain't easy.
     
  3. Nameci
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #3
    Yes I am using TurboCAD Mac Pro version 3. AFAIK, it is the last version that supports PowerPC Macs. I cannot recall how much I bought it from ebay though.
     
  4. MisterKeeks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #4
    It looks like they still support PowerPC.

    EDIT: looking at the system requirements, they say Intel, so I'm not sure why the Universal icon is there.
     
  5. Jessica Lares
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #5
    Yeah, not sure either:

    TurboCAD Mac Designer v7
    Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

    TurboCADMAC Pro v7
    Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

    TurboCADMAC Deluxe v7
    Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

    Seeing version 2 for $100 on eBay.
     
  6. PowerPCMacMan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #6
    Universal could mean:

    Intel and ARM support.. But the only way to find out is if someone calls and asks them if it will run under PowerPC, but my guess is that TurboCAD 7 does NOT run under PPC.
     
  7. skinniezinho, Mar 22, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2013

    skinniezinho
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #7
    It was nice if you could make an installer.
    There is qcad: http://www.qcad.org/en/qcad-downloads-trial (10.5 for the paid version)
    and librecad (tried to run it on 10.4 and said it need 10.5):
    http://librecad.org/cms/home.html
    edit: tried librecad on 10.5 ppc and it doesn't run.


    more options here http://www.pure-mac.com/cad.html
     

Share This Page