CAD software for PPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jethryn Freyman, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Anybody got any recommendations?

    I'd give more detail, and yes I've googled, but in a hurry out of the house right now ~:

    <3
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    3D or 2D?

    Nameci uses TurboCAD, which is paid. I'm compiling FreeCAD from source, and it almost is done. Unfortunately, I don't know how to package it and make an installer yet, so you would have to compile it from source as well, which ain't easy.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #3
    Yes I am using TurboCAD Mac Pro version 3. AFAIK, it is the last version that supports PowerPC Macs. I cannot recall how much I bought it from ebay though.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #4
    It looks like they still support PowerPC.

    EDIT: looking at the system requirements, they say Intel, so I'm not sure why the Universal icon is there.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #5
    Yeah, not sure either:

    TurboCAD Mac Designer v7
    Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

    TurboCADMAC Pro v7
    Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

    TurboCADMAC Deluxe v7
    Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

    Seeing version 2 for $100 on eBay.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #6
    Universal could mean:

    Intel and ARM support.. But the only way to find out is if someone calls and asks them if it will run under PowerPC, but my guess is that TurboCAD 7 does NOT run under PPC.
     
  7. skinniezinho, Mar 22, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #7
    It was nice if you could make an installer.
    There is qcad: http://www.qcad.org/en/qcad-downloads-trial (10.5 for the paid version)
    and librecad (tried to run it on 10.4 and said it need 10.5):
    http://librecad.org/cms/home.html
    edit: tried librecad on 10.5 ppc and it doesn't run.


    more options here http://www.pure-mac.com/cad.html
     

Share This Page