CAD software

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by powerdave, Jun 26, 2004.

1. powerdave macrumors regular

I'm on the lookout for a CAD program. I've never used CAD before so I was hoping for some pointers from you guys!
    I'm currently studying for a degree in Aeronautical Eng and I've done a year so far. I'll be doing CAD next year, and as far as I know, the package they use is PTC Pro Desktop - at least to start off with. So can anyone recommend anything for me to get with that in mind?
    Really I just want to get a feel for it, but if I could find something where it'd be similar enough to the software I've gotta use for uni it would obviously be a plus.

Thanks!

2. MacsAreGod macrumors newbie

I dunno if its like what you want

My dad is an architect and he uses vectorworks 11. I like to mess around with it. i dunno if its like that program you are talking about but i love vector works.

3. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

Macky-Mac

check out www.architosh.com. While it's aimed primarily at architects using CAD on Macs, you'll find info on CAD programs that will be useful for uses other than architecture

4. AdamZ macrumors regular

Vectorworks Rocks

As an architectural student, I too needed some CAD software for use on my Mac. The architect community is still stuck in the horrible 2D world of AutoCad unfortunatly. Since AutoCad does not work on a Mac, I was forced to research other options. I have been using Vectorworks 10 for two years now and recommend it continuously to all my fellow students, as they see my plans and renderings. Vectorworks has different versions for what you may need to work on such as Mechanical, Architecture, or get all of them. CAD changed the world and got us to put our pencils down, programs like Vectorworks are slowly changing the face of drafting once again.

5. frank5050 macrumors member