Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

i-sidd

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 27, 2006
Hi,

I am new to this so trying to do some research and find out what tools I would need.

I have a macbook air, and ipad if that matters.

I was wondering how to get just the music of call me maybe without the vocal and then add voice into it with different lyrics.

What would you recommend and how easy or difficult is this project

floh

macrumors 6502
Nov 28, 2011
Stuttgart, Germany
You might be better off asking this question in the sound department. There is nothing about video in there yet, just about the karaoke soundtrack...

Doing this manually and have it sound good I would call "pretty hard" to do. If you want to spare yourself lots of work and frustration, I would go ahead and search for "Call me maybe karaoke" and buy whatever you find. It will cost you a few bucks at most, and save you lots of pain.

If you still want to do it and you are just starting out and are not sure you want to do this kind of thing very regularly, you should be fine with GarageBand and/or the free Audacity for the sound part.

The basic idea is that on most professional recordings, the instruments are distributed in the stereo room (e.g. the guitar is a little to the left, the drumset is to the far right, ...), but the lead singer is exactly in the center of the mix. You can now "get rid" of that lead singer if you "phase invert" one of the channels and add them to each other. Then everything that had an exactly equal signal on both sides will be cancelled out (the voice), but the rest will still roughly sound the same. Since the bass is often mixed in the center, too, you might need another go where you filter out all high frequencies, just leave the bass and add this to your mixdown.