Call of duty 2

Discussion in 'Games' started by aussie_geek, May 28, 2006.

  1. aussie_geek
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #1
    has anyone bought this? what's it like? I'm thinking of picking it up tomorrow

    aussie_geek
     
  2. harveypooka
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #2
    A friend of mine just uses it for Multiplayer - another said the solo action was fairly dull and linear.
     
  3. menziep
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #3

    I use both and i think the single player is one of the best in any WW2 Shooter
     
  4. harveypooka
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #4
    Well Aussie, I hope this answers your question! Haha! :confused: Best go buy it...
     
  5. XNine
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #5
    The solo on Veteran is incredibly hard but very gratifying. It pisses you off, makes you throw thing at the tv, and best of all, keeps you playing it.

    The multiplayer (at least, on the 360) is decent, though only 8 people at a time, it can be great fun.
     
  6. aussie_geek
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #6
    Yeh - just ordered it!!

    I will be running it on my G5 (see sig) - it only has the default 9600xt graphics card. I know it is the minimum spec card...

    how will it run on that??

    aussie_geek
     
  7. Cougarcat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7

    Just for kicks I'd be interested to see how it runs (if at all) on your Powerbook.
     
  8. Felldownthewell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #8
    I JUST bought it at the Pioneer Place Apple store. I sold some PSP games at EB to afford it and now I'm sitting in Coffee People playing it (and being on MR). Its amazing! Not as good as my all time favorite HL2 but still a vast improvment over CoD1 and a ton of fun to play. Its got my vote!
     
  9. voyagerd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #9
    I had it preordered on Amazon since April 12th, but they never got it. I cancelled the order on Friday and ordered it from Apple. It shipped on the same day. Go Apple.

    I hope the game will run on my 12" PowerBook.
     
  10. applemacdude
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
  11. aussie_geek
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #11
    hee hee - it should JUST run... minimum spec is a 1.5GHz processor. it has the ATI 9700 mobility radeon 128 MB in it so yes, it will be interesting..


    UPDATE: The Visa needed a scorching so I just ordered a Radeon x800xt for the G5 - seems like the graphics dilemma will not be an issue now :D. Maybe Quake 4 will be in order for next week. I will post the frame rates achieved on the PowerBook and the G5 with the 9600 and the x800xt.

    I ended up ordering it from OWC. The price for this card in .au is well over $800!!


    aussie_geek
     
  12. ReanimationLP
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #12
    Call of Duty 2 is an awesome game.

    Now I just need a video card that doesnt choke half to death on it. o.o'
     
  13. aussie_geek
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #13

    What's the multiplayer like? Are there heaps of PC h4x0r's with wallhacks and aimbots? Is it as bad as COD 1 and United offensive??

    aussie_geek
     
  14. yellow
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    I bought it for the PC last week. It's a pretty good game, but slightly different in CoD in that there's no heals anywhere. So it makes me wonder how many times I can get shot it the face before I go down. :)

    Good action though, and better AI than CoD. Still solid graphics and cool missions. If you liked CoD, this one is worth it. IMO.

    AFAIK, CoD2 has punkbuster.
     
  15. DougTheImpaler
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #15
    a good description. I got it for the 360 over the weekend and have to say this is dead on.
     
  16. voyagerd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #16
    Anyone want to post frame rates for the Mac version on various machines?
     
  17. RollTide
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #17
    The multiplayer is good, tons of folks play and I have had only one game where a guy could not be killed, but you can vote them out, other than that no cheats that I have come across. I like the no health pack thing. I went back to playing cod1 and I realized how having to search for medical kits just seem to take away from the game.

    Anyway, a shot from a kar98, enfield, springfield will generally do the job in one show, Gewher takes 2 most of the time, as well as m1 garand( get good with that gun) Thompson may take a whole clip(like 2.5 seconds), but definetly one of the most effective "room brooms" in the game, but the Mp44 is versatile and my personal favorite. Hmmm bout all I can think to say right now, don't play capture the flag, too addictive.
    P.S. Sry for bad grammar, its late!
     
  18. aussie_geek
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #18
    I know what you mean there - that's all I play in COD UO!! It is always great when you call artillery strikes on the enemy flags!! :D :D

    aussie_geek
     
  19. mowogg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    mowogg

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    San Gabriel, CA
    #19
    Does anyone know how to enter a specific server address in CoD2? It doesn't seem possible like it was in CoD1 and I can't find the Dread server in the server list.

    Great game. Slightly different controls from 1 and UO.

    BTW, plays great on my 1.8 G5 with an ATI 9800 in full screen at 1680x1050.
     
  20. KREX725
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    #20
    I'm really glad to hear that. I'm running a single 1.8 G5 also with an ATI x800. The processor was only the minimum so I was a bit worried.
     
  21. mowogg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    mowogg

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    San Gabriel, CA
    #21
    Voice Chat

    I noticed that CoD2 has voice chat built in, and in fact started up my iSight when I loaded the game.
    Does anyone know if it works on the Mac or has any special requirements for the Mac like Ventrilo and the other (can't remember the name right now) have?
    I only have played about 45 minutes since getting teh game last night. A few of the maps are re-workings of the UO maps, but look A LOT better.
     
  22. voyagerd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #22
    Yay, I have a single 1.8 G5 with a 9800 too!
     
  23. aussie_geek
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #23
    There was a post in this thread about no health packs in the game. Is this true? What about multiplayer??

    aussie_geek
     
  24. Haoshiro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #24
    As I recall there really isn't a need for health backs, esp since (iirc) there is no Health Meter either.

    It works really well... though I only played the demo. Multiplayer, I have heard, is still pretty buggy.
     
  25. wilco440
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    wilco440

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    #25
    I've always wonder how to find out this info. Anyone got any suggestions?

    CoD2 arrived yesterday and plays OK on my iMac 2 GHz PowerPC - visually impressive even compared to UO - but from what little I've so far lived through, things start to slow down enormously whenever things get complicated (ie in the big square in front of the building which you need to demolish in the first Russian campaign...).

    But its still pretty impressive.... a fantastic evolution of the original game.
     

Share This Page