Call Of Duty 4 problems

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by James659, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. James659 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    i got call of duty 4 for my mac mini and when i try to open the app it says:
    Call of Duty 4 Could not locate the ''Call of Duty 4 Data'' folder.


    anyone know the problem and how to fix it
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Have you located the "Call of Duty 4 Data" folder? Is it inside the "Call of Duty 4" folder?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. James659 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #3
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    [​IMG]

    PLUS


    Warez/Serials/Keys.
    Do not post software serial numbers or keys or refer people to specific websites, software, or techniques whose purpose is to break or bypass software licensing methods, distribute cracks, or obtain or use commercial software or media in violation of its license and/or for copyright violation. Do not ask for or give such help.


    from http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules#Things_Not_to_Do
     
  5. BertyBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #5
    LOL.

    Looks like you haven't even purchased the game yet.

    And you were silly enough to post that on this forum, where you [should] know that representatives from most of the big game companies frequent to pick up on issues with their games.
    Expect ASpyr to get your IP address from MacRumors, and then get your name and address from your ISP. Then expect a letter some time next week asking you to appear at court.

    LOL.
     
  6. Angra-mainju macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  7. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #7
    Hehe.....this happens all the time, especially on the shooters for some reason. We frequently run through the list of scammers and ban accordingly. Kinda lame that it happens so often, but we try not to worry about it too much.
     
  8. NunoBerny macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #8
    Sorry if this a dumb question, but I'm a new Mac user (one hour into it...).

    Can I play CoD 4: Modern Warfare on a 2012 MacMini (2.5, HD Graphics 4000, 4GB RAM)?
    The list of compatible machines doesn't clearly (to me) state if I can use it or not.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #9
    Yep, should work fine.
     
  10. NunoBerny macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #10
    Ok, thanks.

    I'm still a bit lost with all the different gfx cards, sometimes with small differences in name.

    And then I read people saying the MacMini can't handle ANYTHING and get a bit afraid of ordering something I subsequently can't use... ;(

    Thanks!
     
  11. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #11
    Marc is right Nuno, you should be good with that setup. Thank you for bringing this up actually, it reminds me that I need to update some of our MSR's for older titles like that.

    You should also check out www.gameagent.com They have a MacMatch feature and all sorts of other tools to help you find the right game for your setup.
     
  12. TRAV9614 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #12
    His last activity on Macrumors was more than 2 years ago.
     
  13. xffmosha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    #13
    XFF Servers

    If you still play COD4 and want a new challenge the try our COD4 MW2/Blackops modded server. has weapons and hardpoints from both MW2 and Black ops also running Custom maps from Both Games. Fast redirect for mod and maps

    [​IMG]
     
  14. NunoBerny macrumors regular

    NunoBerny

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #14
    By the way, what can I expect to get from COD4:MW 2 and Black Ops1 and 2?

    I keep reading that HD Graphics aren't good for gaming, so I'm always scared of buying something I can't really use...
     
  15. ee13lbp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #15
    The hd4000 will play every modern game at least on low settings. Since black ops uses the same engine as COD 4, it should be more than playable on medium.
     
  16. koolmagicguy macrumors 6502

    koolmagicguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    You'll have to install MW2 through boot camp if you want to play it on the same machine, as it doesn't have a native port on Mac. HD3000 runs MW2 and MW3 just fine. High resolution, medium effects, no shadows.

    The graphics card is NOT the problem with running modern games on a Mac machine. The problem is that Mac doesn't have updated drivers/codecs/DirectX 9.
     
  17. honkydory macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    #17
    [/COLOR]
    This is not what they say at the app store

    **ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT CALL OF DUTY: BLACK OPS**

    We do NOT recommend that you play Call of Duty: Black Ops on any of the following unsupported graphic chipsets:
    HD3000 (2011 Mac Mini, 2011 MacBook Air, 2011 13” MacBook Pro)
    HD4000 (2012 13” MacBook Pro) :confused:
     
  18. Djevlen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #18
    Thats because they won't/can't support those gpus, but there are several people who have played CoD: BO on a Macbook Air without any problems.
     
  19. tekboi macrumors 6502a

    tekboi

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
    #19
    LOL, like we wouldn't know you had a cracked game...

    Although I don't blame you for not buying Call of Duty....
     
  20. koolmagicguy macrumors 6502

    koolmagicguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #20
    Who are you referring to?
     
  21. Tsuchiya macrumors 68020

    Tsuchiya

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #21
    I wouldn't pay for the Mac version of COD4 either. Brought it when it came out, it was a crappy port.
     
  22. LongSticks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #22
    Can't say for Mac Mini?

    I play COD 4 multiplayer daily on 2011 IMac and it plays beautifully! In fact I play it more than I did on the PC! And I still think that COD 4 is the best for MP and the servers are thriving! Even gone through BO - not so hot on MP but playable!
     

Share This Page