Camcorder compatibility

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by domberoosky, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. domberoosky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm trying to transfer camcorder footage from a SONY DCR-TRV14E camcorder to my powerbook G4 with mac OS X and iMOVIES. When I try to "import" I just get a blue screen even though the film is playing fine on the camcorder!

    The computer recognises the camcorder via fire-wire and controls it but I've still no luck!

    I've checked the FC pro compatibility lists as I can't find any for iMOVIES and this camcorder isn't on them. Is there a similar list for iMOVIES , if so how do I find it and are there any downloads I can use to get this camcorder to work??

    Please help as I've got to return this camcorder this weekend!!
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Your camcorder is an entry-level MiniDV camcorder featuring DV out only. This means that you cannot upload your edited movies to it. As such, I don't think this is you best option for iMovie. The TRV19 gives you DV in for £50 more.
     
  3. domberoosky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #3
    Misunderstanding

    Sorry I think I have been misunderstood. I'm not trying to "upload edited movies" from computer to camcorder.

    I'm trying to get footage FROM the camcorder(miniDVtapes) TO the computer i.e. download or import or capture footage (depending on the terminology).

    I'm beginning to suspect that this model is not able to do this with mac's. I have circumstantial evidence from FC pro's compatibility lists ( tvr14 was absent- couldn't find any lists for iMOVIE) and from the imagemixer website which says you cant use it to download footage to mac's. Obviously I'm not using imagemixer or FC pro (although I do have it) but maybe the camcorder itself isn't compatible??

    Does anyone know what to do?
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    You misunderstood. Without the ability to upload a movie to your camcorder, iMovie is crippled. For this and other reasons, I believe that your camera is incompatible and does not work with iMovie. Unfortunately Sony seems to be just a bit coy about the software compatibility of its camcorders. OTOH, Canon is very clear about its camcorders' compatibility with MacOS X and Windows XP.
     
  5. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #5
    Not that I'm trying to say anything, but did you rewind the tape before playing. I thought iMovie had more of an import feature than have the person press play on camcorder, then again I haven't used iMovie yet.
     
  6. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #6
    I have an older entry-level Sony camcorder, one of those digital 8mm ones. It doesn't have any video-in, only video-out. It works perfectly in iMovie and FCE. I just have to rewind the tape, connect it to the Mac, then click import, and then press play on the camcorder. iMovie/FCE then imports the video in real-time.
     
  7. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #7
    Unfortunately, your camera isn't on the iMove compatibility list:
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/camcorders.html

    If you dig around Google, though, you'll find that plenty of people can use that camera w/ iMovie. Double-check all of your settings and walk through the directions carefully. It should work.
     
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
  9. za9ra22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    #9
    Sony miniDV camcorders are typically not problematic in use on Macs, and the fact this particular model isn't listed on the Apple web site as compatible doesn't mean much other than that Apple haven't tested it.

    That said, there are a number of possible issues. The first is that the firewire cable itself is OK. Many people in the past have reported issues with importing or exporting and are sucessful after replacing the cable.

    It's also possible that the firewire port itself needs to be reset - the procedure varies by model, but typically involves unplugging power to the system and waving a dead chicken round your head 5 times (clockwise) while saying 'firewire reset, firewire reset, firewire reset.....' Specific (and less toung in cheek) instructions for your particular Mac are likely to be found in the support area of the Apple web site.

    Next, the order in which items are switched on/run can make a difference. Thus, if you currently switch the camcorder on AFTER you have opened iMovie, next time, try opening iMovie AFTER switching on the camera.

    Lastly, you may (I vaguely recall a discussion many, many months ago) need to enable video out through the firewire port on the camera - have a look through the menus to make sure you have it set correctly.

    I also recall from some time ago a discussion in Apple's iMovie discussion forum of issues with some miniDV camcorders in the European market where firewire input was disabled and which subsequently caused problems to iMovie. If this is still an issue (and assuming my memory is reasonably accurate on the subject) then the fact the TRV-14E can't input DV through firewire may indeed be the reason you can't output it too.

    If the above doesn't help in any meaningful way, I'd suggest you take a look at the Apple support forum (http://discussions.info.apple.com/) for iMovie, where these sorts of issues are not uncommonly discussed. You'll need to register to post, but not to browse or search.

    Good luck!
     
  10. KCK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #10
    I agree with a post above that the order you power things on can make a difference. I generally make sure the video camera is powered on before I start iMovie. Also do you get a message from iMovie that a camera is attached before you start to import the movie? As others have said you will just get a blank blue screen if you are past the recorded tape, ie you need to rewind :)
     
  11. Poeben macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    #11
    I had a similar problem with my canon miniDV cam. I could not import video to my G5 unless i disconnected ALL other firewire devices from the computer. I had 2 hdd (1 800, 1 400) and a FW audio interface connected. I could not capture video until I disconnected everything, including the FW800 drive. Now I just use my G4 for import and copy everything over gigabit until i have time to find a better solution.
     

Share This Page