Camcorder to Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DJMastaWes, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. DJMastaWes macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    My friend has a Panasonic PV-DV202-K camera, and we need to do a video for a school project. It comes with a USB wire to hook up to the camera, and it takes on of those DV tapes. It's not showing up on my computer or in iMovie. Is this camera only for windows? If it is.. what do I do!!!!!!!!!!

    I really need to edit it on a mac.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Josephkyles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #2
    You need to hook the camera up with a firewire cable not USB
     
  3. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #3
    The only firewire cable I have is the one that goes into the camera, and goes into a PC. I don't have one that goes in a mac. Can I buy the cheap somewhere?

    No way to do it with USB?

    If I get the firewire... Will it really work?
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    What do mean by this? FireWire ports on PCs and Macs are the same. Camcorders often have a four-pin FireWire connector, while you would need a six-pin connector for the PC/Mac end of the cable.
     
  5. Josephkyles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #5
    You need a 4pin to 6pin firewire cable. (Apple uses 6pin firewire, and the camera uses 4 pin) Yes, if you get this it will work. No, you can not transfer video from a miniDV tape with USB. That is for pictures stored on the memory card.
     
  6. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #6
  7. Josephkyles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #7
    Many PCs are now using 4Pin firewire instead of 6 pin.
     
  8. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #8
    But firewire I can?
     
  9. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #9
    As said above, you can get 4-pin to 6-pin FW cables, and they are relatively cheap (less than 20 dollars US). This will be your only option.
     
  10. Josephkyles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #10
    Yes firewire is what you use to transfer Movies to your Mac.
     
  11. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    Okay...yes, you need something like a 4-pin to 6-pin FireWire cable...that will work.

    There are adapters available that would convert one end of your current 4-pin to 4-pin cable to a 6-pin connector, but they can be hard to find. It would be a lot cheaper than a new cable though.

    (Your brother's computer uses a 4-pin port? I haven't seen that before...usually computers use the sturdier 6-pin ports.)

    That means I'm not spending enough time around PCs these days...I suppose that's a good thing.
     
  12. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #12
    Yeah, my bro has a 4 pin in his computer.

    So, is this what I need? (So I don't make a mistake) http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926INGFS10052003&catid=20168# .

    Also, anyone know a place with good Final Cut Express tutorials? I need to edit this video, but I have never used FCE and I have like a week only. iMovie isn't exactly what I need. I need to be able to ass photos to the video and test so that it's on top of the video. IE, we have a news scence, so we're going to put like a 100x100 image beside the perosn talking... like on the news.

    Thanks for all your help guys... I was really worried.
     
  13. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
  14. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #14
    Alright, when I'm in the store I'll look for a shorter one.
     
  15. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    camcorder

    everyone is correct, you need a 6 pin to 4 pin firewire cable... the USB you plugged in FYI is for reading the memory card that the camcorder has for its still camera... why they can't use one cable I'll never know... wouldn't it have been nice if apple told you what was going on when you plugged it in? Windows would..

    DD
     
  16. MoonCow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #16
    just turn wireframes on and then make it smaller and drag it wherever
     

Share This Page