camera that will work in OS 9

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by joetronic, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. joetronic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #1
    I need a 2 or 3 megapixle camera that has drivers for OS 9. There is a teacher in one of my schools (I'm a tech at the local school system) that has OS 9 (we cannot upgrade) and needs a digital camera for curiculum work. Nothing fancy needed, just 2 or 3 megapixles. Since this will be purchased by a school system, we cannot use Ebay, needs to be purchased new from a known dealer that exepts tax exempt.

    Thanks

    Joe
     
  2. joetronic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
  3. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #3
    My Canon PowerShot A60 (2MP) camera will work in Mac OS 9. You can still buy these are various electronic stores for under $150. Its a great camera for a 2MP camera. Good on batteries, and takes great pictures. It even has a movie mode, which will take noisy movies, but works ok.

    You can also get a Canon PowerShot A75 (3MP) for around $170 that will work with Mac OS 9.

    Here is a link to a bunch of sites that sell them:

    http://www.pricescan.com/digiphoto/items/item156860.asp
     
  4. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    Instead of worrying about a camera why don't you focus on a card reader that supports OS 9. Than you can use any camera with it.

    jon
     
  5. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    iJon is right. Just find a card reader that will work. I have a feeling most of them will. If you're really set on finding a camera that has included software for OS 9, it shouldn't be too hard. My Sony DSC-T1 (relatively new camera) says that it's OS 9 compatible on the box. I've never installed the software that came with it, I just use iPhoto, but I think it does have Mac software (OS 9 and X) on the CD.
     
  6. joetronic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #6
    thanks guys. big help. I had no idea the DSC-T1 had OS 9 software.
     

Share This Page